Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
I have a customer who uses a Pitney Bowes Postage Machine. The machine is hooked up via an Analog Station through a Samsung phone system. The customer's trunking needs grew to the point that they upgraded from 12 analog lines to a PRI. Now the Pitney Bowes won't finish it's download. When listening to the line I hear what appears to be handshaking between the modem in the Pitney Bowes and the data center. After roughly 1.5 minutes there is a disconnect.

When I spoke with tech support at Pitney Bowes they said the machine needs a "Dedicated Analog Line", which is absolutely ridiculous.

Has anyone successfully connected a Pitney Bowes postage machine over a digital line? Any suggestions? I'm thinking it's a timer issue which is going to be a trial and error process.

Thanks - Tom-

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Offline
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
I have these machines connected through a Comdial FXII and Legend R7. Both are PRI and have never had any issues. I do recall having to adjust the baud rate at the Legend site though.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,301
Likes: 2
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,301
Likes: 2
I know the Pitney Bowes machine we have is notorious for having exactly the problem you describe and it's connected to a POTS line. Eventually it does finish. Does yours act like that or does it never work?

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,106
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,106
I had a customer with a pitney bowes machine that never worked right, and it was connected to POTS.

Once the owner found out how much they were paying for it they went back to stamps, so the problem got solved. smile

If I remember correctly they would have to retry half a dozen times or so till it would reliably connect.

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,271
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,271
Is the machine working off of an analog port on the Samsung? If so, make sure that you have the clocking set on the PRI card.

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 530
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 530
I've had a lot of problems with Pitney Bowes in the past. Just to keep things simple I usually split the fax line and use it. I try not to connect analog devices through the phone switch unless I have to, there are too many variables that can cause problems and the first thing any manufacturer is going to do is point at the phone switch.
Another thing I always insist on is at least one analog line no matter how many PRI's the customer has.


Samsung Dealer
www.firstcoastbiz.com
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,138
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,138
I run into this often with my Avaya Communications Managers. The problem is the analog card that connects to the pitney bowes is never in the same gateway as the PRI. So the call must travel between gateways via IP. This can cause issues. The fix is usually to adjust the IP codec settings and allow modem calls to "pass through". This probably doesn't help you with your Samsung issue, but it's my $0.02...


[Linked Image from phototiki.com]
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Wow - I really appreciate the feedback. The Pitney Bowes was working on POT lines, yes phonemeister it is connected to an analog station port (SLI) on the Samsung, Cracker the customer does not have ANY analog lines so it has to run via the phone system, and Hal it NEVER finishes it's download now.

I will see if I can get on the phone with the engineers at pitney bowes. My guess is it's a timing issue since it appears to timeout and disconnect.

By the way here's a good chuckle: Pitney Bowes phone tech in response to the customer not having an analog line "What I think you should do is take the machine home at night and plug it in there, it will download the rates and you will be all set for the next day." :rofl:

-Tom-

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 59
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 59
What system are they using? If its a 100, i have had problems with certain PRI cards in certain cabinets and using SLI. They have noise on the single line ports. It has something to do with a circuit on the cabinet, or so i was told. Make sure the PRI is up to date and you can try switching to a different PRI card to see if it helps.


Wagner Low Voltage
(901)870-6104
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 930
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 930
We had a Pitney Bowes that WASN"T connected to a phone line and was CRAP......


ATTITUDE: It takes 43 muscles to frown, 17 to smile, and 3 for proper trigger squeeze.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  MooreTel, Professor Shadow, skip555 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/07/21 01:00 AM
Samsung DCS power failure
by Telesystems - 03/06/21 09:55 PM
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/06/21 05:09 PM
Old Equipment Plan
by MarkAtLMFJ - 03/05/21 04:41 PM
OS 7400 OAS
by John807 - 03/05/21 04:21 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,290
Posts639,135
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Ken 1959, NEC Tech, patspidy, Skate4u
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 33
Ruben 27
pvj 13
hbiss 10
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
31 members (westerntelephone, hbiss, Allied Telcom, bditech, Tech2014, Coral Tech, RonP, justbill, vicbob, Ruben, RATHER BE FISHING, Silversam, FoneJacker, Canteleco, Touch Tone Tommy, KRRath, High Mesa Communications, dexman, nfcphoneman, Iwatsu Guru, hitechcomm, jknichols, Yoda, BTS01, OBT, kevinoffsite, BobRobert, metelcom, MooreTel, morephones, nortelvoip), 379 guests, and 39 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners