Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#195375 11/07/08 05:36 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 38
ErikGun Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 38
We have a CIX 670 with a ISDN T1. I have a DID set to Dialing Digits to extention 230 for a Analog Fax machine. Everything works fine except, when the extention is in use and another call comes in on that DID it just rings until either the incoming line drops the call or the Extention is free and picks up.

How to i set this to give me a busy signal when the extention is in use.

Thank for the help.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,347
Likes: 11
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,347
Likes: 11
I'm not a Toshiba guru, but most systems have an intercept routing plan for subsequent calls to a particular DID number upon busy. It sounds as if an alternate route for the fax number hasn't been established. More than likely, there is a default intercept route allowing these calls to ring to nowhere instead of returning a busy signal.

PRI circuits and their associated DID numbers require that the local system (and programmer) have a full command of alternate routing for calls that can't be delivered.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,017
Moderator-Toshiba, Request an Installer
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba, Request an Installer
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,017
There is a document on Toshibas Dealer FYI site that details how to set up a PRI for fax machines. I haven't had to do it on a t-1, maybe Tom or Tony will have some input.


Now available Voicemail Programmer Kit to program your Toshiba Voice Mail across your network.

Toshiba Technical Support at: One Ring Telecom
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
Go Trunks -> ILG -> select trunk group, Option 17 is Auto Camp on. Set this to disable.

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Also goto Advanved -> Station -> assignments for that extension and make sure call waiting is set to disabled

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 38
ErikGun Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 38
mj_wald and ClearVoice, That did the trick! Thank you!


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,745
Posts636,432
Members49,622
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
cTopher, djmoutt, ffej010, Kenneth J McLean, telephonegunner, Tellink
Newest Members
noriod45, Levi1337, jackbeelerDCS, blentz, RockyTop
49,622 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
blentz 6
Toner 5
jsaad 5
dans 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (Bushmills), 245 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5