Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#19604 07/09/08 12:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 36
b_bears Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 36
Anybody know of a device that will monitor a PSTN line and dectect a failure on it. When a failure is detected switch the phone device to another PSTN line? Thanks

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#19605 07/09/08 02:25 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
There are line failure circuits used in fire alarm system panels. They have a limited capability, however, because they only will detect a line voltage failure, (I believe) and not a failure of dial tone. You need to be aware that a POTS line can have -48V and ground, but no dial tone.

Do a Google search for "Line fault monitor"

here\'s one


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

#19606 07/09/08 02:53 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
I did a quick search under 'line fault' here and found nothing, But I believe this was discussed at length this year in one of the forums. If someone can find it, tell b_bears where it is. I usually only manage to waste time doing any kind of search on the WWW. frown John C. (Not Garand)


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
#19607 07/09/08 03:38 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Quote
Originally posted by b_bears:
Anybody know of a device that will monitor a PSTN line and dectect a failure on it. When a failure is detected switch the phone device to another PSTN line? Thanks
Out of curiosity, what are you trying to provide backup dialtone for?

#19608 07/09/08 08:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 36
b_bears Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 36
Did a google for "line fault" and that did it. Thanks. Must of googled everything but that. Narrowed it down to an Elk 980 or Honywell 968EN.
Texas Tech, just doing a little project of when my flakey PSTN line losses it connection, a bad splice between demarc and CO which they can not find as it comes and goes by itself, (seems they have no spare pairs, ya right) to switch to a VOIP line that I have for backup that always seems to work. The adsl is on a different pair. Basically just playing.

#19609 07/10/08 04:19 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Don't ya just love those kind of troubles. mad
At least your DSL is stable. :thumb:


Moderated by  MooreTel 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,416
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
ebernhard, gman1205, Herb Parsons, jdews, nextlevel, ROGER IN FLA
Newest Members
blentz, RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C
49,619 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
blentz 3
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 3 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5