Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Cannot logon to Ultramail Admin program
#234821 08/09/07 03:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Repent Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
I'm trying to logon to my NEC via the Ultramail admin program. I setup an IP in the same subnet (default) as the voice mail before I installed the software and entered in the three letter password like the instructions call for. I can ping the voicemail at it's IP address. I've connected directly via cat5 from laptop to voicemail card and still cannot get in. I get an error message that states:

Voine mail warning
Description: (null)
Source: (null)
Error Message: This computer was unable to communicate with the computer providing the server.
Error: 8000401d

Warning: The above error occurred while attempting to connect to the voicemail.

When I cancel out of the error message, I get a flash on the screen that is the admin program closing in the background. Seems like I'm almost there.....

Anybody know of any quirks when installing or accessing the Ultramail Admin program?

thanks

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: Cannot logon to Ultramail Admin program
#234822 08/09/07 04:00 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,640
Moderator-NEC
*****
Offline
Moderator-NEC
*****
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,640
Ulramail admin is a weird piece of software. It uses MDSE and other underlying things on your laptop. You may want to try re-installing the admin software again.

Re: Cannot logon to Ultramail Admin program
#234823 08/09/07 04:01 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,985
Moderator-Mitel, NEC, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Mitel, NEC, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,985
If you connect directly, you would need to use a crossover cable.

Re: Cannot logon to Ultramail Admin program
#234824 08/10/07 09:08 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Repent Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Quote
Originally posted by ttech:
Ulramail admin is a weird piece of software. It uses MDSE and other underlying things on your laptop. You may want to try re-installing the admin software again.
you're right about it being wierd. I've uninstalled/reinstalled/rebooted several times. Even tried it on a brand new clean laptop and no joy. I suppose I could try updating MSDE. Do you know what other underlying things it uses?

Re: Cannot logon to Ultramail Admin program
#234825 08/10/07 01:48 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 70
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 70
As DrPbx suggested use a crossover cable and uncheck Use Serial Link.


"If at first you don't succeed, keep on sucking till you do succeed." - Curly Howard
Re: Cannot logon to Ultramail Admin program
#234826 08/10/07 02:17 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Repent Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
tried that with both straight and crossover. I can ping using both. Cannot connect with either. Serial is unchecked.

Re: Cannot logon to Ultramail Admin program
#234827 08/10/07 06:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
I never could connect with the software , tech service gave me a way to go in through DOS and I had the 'ole familiar NVM series interface .

I wish I could use it for intramail to


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Re: Cannot logon to Ultramail Admin program
#234828 08/29/07 03:29 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Repent Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Ok so I got Ultramail working on two separate workstations. One is my laptop, the other a fresh install of XP I setup on a test workstation. I am posting my resolution here so hopefully it will help others.

This is what I observed during testing:

Content edited to comply with board rules.

I am using straight through cables with no problem. I currently have my cards connected to a switch so I can do LAN access. I can also direct connect. I DID bind an IP address in the same subnet as my CPU and VM cards on both my test machines before installing the software but I don't think that matters as far as installation goes, since those values are not recorded in the registry for Ultramail. You would of course need to have an IP address in the same subnet to physically reach the cards.

Hope this helps someone.

Peace;
Chris

Re: Cannot logon to Ultramail Admin program
#234829 08/29/07 05:43 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,692
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,692
Chris:

Welcome to the board! We really appreciate your expertise and willingness to help other techs, but for several reasons, sensitive information such as passwords and registry editing are not allowed in the open forum. That type of info is either shared via PM or in the Installer's Forum. Your post was copied to the moderators area so it could be used to help techs in the future. welcome

Link

Re: Cannot logon to Ultramail Admin program
#234830 07/30/08 06:19 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 17
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 17
I've just been down the same path discussed in this thread and I'd love to know the magic to make it work. As far as I can see, the issue really is totally on the PC side, likely in the underlying Microsoft SQL environment. I've set up packet logging on my router and UltraMail doesn't appear to ever get to the point where a TCP/IP packet gets sent from the PC. The VM card responds to pings from the same PC as well.

Email or PM me if you want/need more details.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  DrPbx, ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
7100 Lan Printer Error
by RM SYSTEMS - 09/28/20 02:27 PM
Caller wait list
by Hofman telekom - 09/28/20 11:27 AM
TDA50G power consumption
by kenc - 09/27/20 01:23 PM
Who's Online Now
33 members (Hofman telekom, Carl Navarro, Touch Tone Tommy, Telesystems, newtecky, EV607797, nortelvoip, metelcom, hitechcomm, hbiss, aweaver, RATHER BE FISHING, Keyset6, Bob3470, dexman, gertter, justbill, JBean3329, Coral Tech, BobRobert, Hanale, nameless, jab1780, Professor Shadow, Bull Tone, crazy canuck, STS E, Yoda, RM SYSTEMS, Ruben, MarvinACE, Darman951, Memphisribs), 381 guests, and 54 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,975
Posts637,356
Members49,356
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
betsy, Cabling Lady, jcorsell, MVSpeed, sherif
Newest Members
xware, Adam19871, tmr-afmk, Big Alan, simsh
49355 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 34
hbiss 12
ABLE1 10
Ruben 10
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners