Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Voicemail Failure to Recognize NEC Elitemail VMS #238823 10/15/08 04:08 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
flashlyrics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
I was wondering if anybody can help me figure out a slight snag I have hit in my NEC Elitemail VMS. For the last six months my company has operated under this voicemail system and it has worked just fine, up until last week or so, when the voicemail just decided to stop working. It as though the server does not recognize the voicemail. I tried to give a reset and I tried calling the tech lines, but they told me that they had to send somebody out to take a look at it.

The main problem is that when we try to call voicemail it does not answer. It is as though we did not set up the voicemail to begin with, but when we try to set it up it just keeps ringing and ringing. We have set up the voicemail before, and had everything set up, but it seems as though all our work is gone.

Before I take the plunge and call a professional to come out and charge me an arm and a leg, is there any other troubleshooting technique's you would try? Anything at all?

NEC search for systems, cards, phones, software, manuals and repairs!
Re: Voicemail Failure to Recognize NEC Elitemail VMS #238824 10/15/08 04:39 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 229
BTECH Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 229
look for a green light on the front of the card. if there are no green lights on it the card may be hosed. If there is a green light than the card should be good. You could try shutting down the vm card and removing it from the system than reinstall it and power it on. you may have lost system programming though

Re: Voicemail Failure to Recognize NEC Elitemail VMS #238825 10/15/08 05:17 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,440
doghart Offline
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,440
I agree, sounds as though you need to reset the VMS card.

On the front of the card, towards the top is a very small black up/down switch. Slide the switch down and wait for 30 seconds. Pull up on the white plastic tab at the top of the card to pop the card loose from the backplane and remove power from the card. Slide the card back in by pushing firmly at the top/bottom of the card with both thumbs. Once the card is back in and you see red lights on the front slide the black switch back up. You should see the HDD light towards the bottom of the card start to flicker as the card re-boots. Wait 1-5 minutes for the card to boot up. The BCLR light towards the top of the card should turn green.

D

Re: Voicemail Failure to Recognize NEC Elitemail VMS #238826 10/15/08 05:45 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
flashlyrics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Thank you for your advice. The only problem is I don't see a single green light in the card ports. Our phone system is functioning fine, minus the problems we have been having with the VM.

Re: Voicemail Failure to Recognize NEC Elitemail VMS #238827 10/15/08 08:38 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,440
doghart Offline
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,440
Elitemail Vm is a card in the system, typically in the last slot (far right) of the first cabinet and has a yellow or orange tag attached.

Do you have this VM or an external vm?

D

Re: Voicemail Failure to Recognize NEC Elitemail VMS #238828 10/16/08 05:57 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 733
IPKII Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 733
I would power off the phone system, wait 1 minute, re-seat the Elitmail card, then power on the phone system. If the Elitemail fails to boot-up, or, you do get a green led on the Elitemail card & it still does not answer, you will have to get your NEC vendor to come out.


www.phonelinetech.com


"Can I Still Call Out?"
Re: Voicemail Failure to Recognize NEC Elitemail VMS #238829 10/16/08 10:55 AM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
flashlyrics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Looks like the voicemail is f'ed and I called out the technician. If it ends up costing an arm and a leg to fix this thing, are their any other voicemail systems I could install that would work with the NEC phone system?

Re: Voicemail Failure to Recognize NEC Elitemail VMS #238830 10/16/08 08:52 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,474
vad60 Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,474
I used to install Aleen. Works grate but required a Single Line Card. Another VM is Computer based Repartee which is expensive as well as Elitemail. If your VMS has an old HD it can be reinitialized by certified knowledgeable tech. but if HD is a Flash type you have to replace it.

Re: Voicemail Failure to Recognize NEC Elitemail VMS #238831 11/04/08 02:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
flashlyrics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
An update and new question about my VMS. I called out the Nextcom representative to come and take a look at our companies VMS and he told us that the HD had crashed. After fixing it and getting it back from Nextcom I installed the VMS and now we are able to get to the Voicemail but it just keeps asking for the extension I want to use, and when I enter the extension it says that "can not hear your call", when i try to connect to an operator, it says "all operators are busy now".

Nextcom was saying that it would be complicated and that most people end up calling out a representative to come set up the Voicemail but is there any way somebody can help in this process. I have all the entry codes, but basically what we want to do is just set up the Voicemail with a simple greeting and directory. If anyone can help with any direction or response it would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Re: Voicemail Failure to Recognize NEC Elitemail VMS #238832 11/04/08 04:36 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,440
doghart Offline
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,440
Sounds like they replaced the HDD, but didn't program any database in it.

This would likely take a certified tech 2-3 hours.

D

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  DrPbx, ttech 

Search

Most Recent 5 Post
Mitel 3000 programming cable
by Biztel Cuban Okie Tech - 02/20/20 07:24 PM
OXO voicemail busy
by Keyset6 - 02/20/20 01:54 PM
4 Tech Communications
by roldan - 02/19/20 08:49 PM
NEC Cordless Phone Audio Issues
by teldata1 - 02/19/20 08:43 PM
Ringplan stuck
by Temperor - 02/19/20 07:43 PM
Who's Online Now
33 registered members (aswipay, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, Ruben, jab1780, Yoda, Garbleduser, justbill, Not_sirius, Curlycord, mongo5150, Touch Tone Tommy, STS E, Keyset6, phonemeister, KRRath, mike b, gelehu, Russ Micheli, wmelliott, teletron, jsaad, vicbob, MooreTel, Carl Navarro, R4+Z, erniejoey, Skunky, metelcom, dexman, usedphones, EV607797, newtecky, pvj), 881 guests, and 181 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics(Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,479
Posts634,512
Members49,240
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
bevcomm21, Ironhedz, Nikola, phone guy bruce, SamsungExpert, Sbarron, Skippie9696
Newest Members
kosta543, wetnoodle50, minion2.0, robmar, EasternOffice Ma
49240 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 35
Jeroen 20
Ruben 19
OBT 17
pvj 16
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Bluewater Sailing
Become a Patron! https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Buy one Get one FREE when you use PayPal at checkout! Code T28P
Yealink $39.95 Buy one Get one FREE when you use PayPal on checkout! Code T28P
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners