Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Connect 1 PRI to Multiple PBX's? Via Hub?
#262586 09/20/11 07:24 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 30
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 30
I need to connect multiple systems to a PRI.

Mainly to learn these archaic machines on a live PRI that we support, without having to get another PRI.

Can I plug a hub into it to multiplex the connection? Or would it pass data but not voltage?

Telephone Equipment Search
Re: Connect 1 PRI to Multiple PBX's? Via Hub?
#262587 09/20/11 07:46 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Short answer: NO. A PRI can only have one endpoint.

Re: Connect 1 PRI to Multiple PBX's? Via Hub?
#262588 09/20/11 01:48 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,954
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Online Content
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,954
Connect the PRI to one of the systems and then pass the (appropriate) calls to the other PBX(s) with Tie Trunks. This is called Networking. Or at least it was until the IT weenies co-opted the term.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Re: Connect 1 PRI to Multiple PBX's? Via Hub?
#262589 09/20/11 02:44 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,180
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,180
Actually, I seem to recall seeing a nice gadget from Adtran that allowed a single PRI to enter it and multiple PRIs came out. Of course, they are fractional, so B1-6 + D appears on the first one; B7-12 + D appears on the second one, etc.

We had one of these for a customer who was using some channels for voice and some for their fax server. It has been about ten years though, so I'm not sure if they are still available.

I'd check with Adtran to see.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: Connect 1 PRI to Multiple PBX's? Via Hub?
#262590 09/24/11 07:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 32
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 32
Take a look at the adtran atlas 550 link below. Lets you plugin the pri from the carrier in and lets you set up other pri's out to differnt pbx's ect. you can route based on did ect. I've used these for years work like a charm. Best part of it all they are fairly inexpensive.


https://www.adtran.com/web/page/portal/Adtran/group/42


Race Communications | http://www.race.com
Re: Connect 1 PRI to Multiple PBX's? Via Hub?
#262591 03/15/12 08:54 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 30
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 30
I have an Adtran 602 total access that a deltacom technician junked. Would that work? It is an IAD. I'm not sure I can factory reset it, but the manual says the craft port provides maximum rights :bang: )

Re: Connect 1 PRI to Multiple PBX's? Via Hub?
#262592 03/16/12 09:46 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
In its standard form a PRI from the Telco has 23 channels that can be used for voice, "B" channels, and 1 "D" channel. The D channel carries all the signalling and supervision for all voice channels. The Telco PRI can only interface to one endpoint. You would need a box as mentioned above that terminates the PRI and generates separate B and D channels to each output. You cannot do that with a hub or by splitting out wires.

Re: Connect 1 PRI to Multiple PBX's? Via Hub?
#262593 03/23/12 12:43 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 54
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 54
I'll put in a 2nd vote for an Atlas 550. It can do exactly what you are asking. The units are so versatile that Cisco certification courses use them to simulate the CO in labs.

Get an Atlas 550 with a single T1 card. Add a 1200314L2 dual T1 card and you will be set to go. You might even want to spring for an Octal T1 card if you have several machines that you want live at the same time. You can also get an FXS card and connect analog equipment as well.

Re: Connect 1 PRI to Multiple PBX's? Via Hub?
#262594 03/29/12 08:00 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 588
Moderator-Mobil Phones, Computers
Offline
Moderator-Mobil Phones, Computers
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 588
The 602 is a standard CSU/DSU and won't split out a T1 but the 550 that's been recommended will. One good thing about Adtran is they offer excellent support. Give them a call and discuss your situation and they will recommend the best option.

Re: Connect 1 PRI to Multiple PBX's? Via Hub?
#262595 04/08/12 01:48 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,280
Member
*****
Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,280
The Adtran 750, if equipped with a List 2 BCU will allow "drop/add" (you can Google that term and find out a lot about how it's done and who does it).

You derive a second T1 connection from the 1st channel bank that runs via a 4-wire ckt to the 2nd channel bank.

The channel bank has two 8p8c jacks. One is IN and the other is OUT, basically.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"


Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
SV9100 with 10 digit DIDs on SIP
by conxtel - 05/22/20 08:58 PM
SV9100 CP20 Question
by erniejoey - 05/22/20 11:41 AM
Magix positive telco disconnect
by Brian A - 05/21/20 05:54 PM
Nortel CICS 10 call log
by Droptop - 05/21/20 02:35 PM
Polycom Trio C60 or 8800 compatible with the SCM Compact?
by jchambers7009 - 05/21/20 03:28 AM
Who's Online Now
24 members (JBean3329, Curlycord, BobRobert, nfcphoneman, metelcom, MooreTel, Carl Navarro, RATHER BE FISHING, pvj, EV607797, Silversam, Arthur P. Bloom, Yoda, morephones, Bob-o, dude, Bob3470, Mercenary Roadie, hbiss, Professor Shadow, justbill, nortelvoip, Touch Tone Tommy, KRRath), 229 guests, and 41 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics93,716
Posts635,847
Members49,286
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Computer Telecom Associates, Don McMorris, Envoy Insurance, jdauph, krust, t-com
Newest Members
nikauri, Darrel Mullins, fleming23, AKP, Oso Rojo
49285 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
Bob-o 14
Ruben 11
hbiss 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners