Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Existing DSL to three (3) different buildings?
#26282 09/29/11 11:49 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Hi folks,
I have DSL service to our Church that's on a separate network than the "primary" Church network.

We have three (3) different buildings on site, and I'm wondering if I can, somehow, connect all three buildings to the same DSL network? How would I do that?

The DSL modem is in located in Bldg. 1, and Bldg. 2 & 3 are appx. 50-150 feet away from Bldg. 1. The main telco closet and PBX wiring, etc., are all located in Bldg. 2.

There's a telco junction box (I think that's what it's called) in the concrete sidewalk with a lid on it located right in the middle of all three buildings.

I'd like to offer wifi at all three buildings by having an access point located within each buildings.

Comments? Suggestions?

Thank you!

Ed

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Re: Existing DSL to three (3) different buildings?
#26283 09/29/11 12:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 299
Of course it can be done...get a qualified CG in there to give you your options. I don't get to say THAT very often on this forum!


Dylan. SATUBAW (Some American techs use BIX as well)!
Re: Existing DSL to three (3) different buildings?
#26284 09/29/11 03:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
google 'mesh'


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
Re: Existing DSL to three (3) different buildings?
#26285 09/29/11 05:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,947
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,947
Ed Flecko,
What you are wanting to do is defiantly doable.
My advise would be for you to contact a local voice and data interconnect company for a quote to connect your 3 buildings.

Depending exactly where you are located in CA, there may be some people here on the board that may be able to help you out with this.

Good Luck


Avaya SMB Authorized Business Partner. ACIS/APSS
ESI Certified Reseller/Installer
www.regal-comm.com
Re: Existing DSL to three (3) different buildings?
#26286 09/29/11 09:35 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
like mike said , you just need to understand what your doing .

you aren't extending DSL per se your bringing DSL to a central point then extending a Ethernet network (wired or WIFI) to the other locations


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Re: Existing DSL to three (3) different buildings?
#26287 10/01/11 04:27 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,125
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,125
Like Skip555 said... You're just extending the existing TCP/IP network to all three buildings. How you do it is all just site design / physical-layer. The DSL proper (modem, router) can remain in just the one location.

Now, a question (this being a church, and me being familiar with how those projects sometimes go...) -- Do you NEED internet at all three buildings?

Okay, sure, if you have a school/preschool, you need the classrooms and/or lab to be able to access the internet (as a computer lab or a library are usually a certification requirement). And the admin people need to access the internet for website updates, email, etc. -- but much of the campus probably doesn't need internet.

Case in point: I did some volunteer work for a church with a school and preschool. We set up a Peer-to-peer network in the admin area, and then we set up a lab in the same building for the school. Well, the principal wanted every classroom to have two computers, each with internet access. Me and a buddy spent our vacations that year running cables to 6 classrooms in 5 modular buildings, and adding hubs in three locations to achieve this goal.

Come to find out, the teachers were asking to *remove* computers (they tend to take space and to be a distraction) and just wanted students to use the lab during the designated "Computer" classes.

And it turned out that the "computer classes" consisted mainly of "keyboarding" (typing) and "how to look stuff up on the internet."

So the network we put together was serious overkill. Which brings me back to my point: Are you SURE that you NEED DSL at all three buildings? Because if there's not a plan and a purpose for it, it's overkill and you'd be better off using the time and resources elsewhere.


Moderated by  MooreTel, Professor Shadow, skip555 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
SV9100 with 10 digit DIDs on SIP
by conxtel - 05/22/20 08:58 PM
SV9100 CP20 Question
by erniejoey - 05/22/20 11:41 AM
Magix positive telco disconnect
by Brian A - 05/21/20 05:54 PM
Nortel CICS 10 call log
by Droptop - 05/21/20 02:35 PM
Polycom Trio C60 or 8800 compatible with the SCM Compact?
by jchambers7009 - 05/21/20 03:28 AM
Who's Online Now
24 members (JBean3329, Curlycord, BobRobert, nfcphoneman, metelcom, MooreTel, Carl Navarro, RATHER BE FISHING, pvj, EV607797, Silversam, Arthur P. Bloom, Yoda, morephones, Bob-o, dude, Bob3470, Mercenary Roadie, hbiss, Professor Shadow, justbill, nortelvoip, Touch Tone Tommy, KRRath), 229 guests, and 41 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics93,716
Posts635,847
Members49,286
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Computer Telecom Associates, Don McMorris, Envoy Insurance, jdauph, krust, t-com
Newest Members
nikauri, Darrel Mullins, fleming23, AKP, Oso Rojo
49285 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
Bob-o 14
Ruben 11
hbiss 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners