Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Anyone have experience using Interchange 12.0 ECS with reporting?
#37383 08/22/07 08:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
OP Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Interchange 11.x, soon to be upgraded to 12.x (8-port IVPC, possibly to be expanded to 12 ports), for the purpose of using full ECS. FXII 17F.

I may be setting up a customer to use Interchange 12.0 ECS with the agent and supervisor applets, reports, etc.

Does anyone have anything to share about this, that might help me along the way? Good and bad experiences? Things to watch out for? Time needed to implement?

Thanks!

Justin

Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Re: Anyone have experience using Interchange 12.0 ECS with reporting?
#37384 08/22/07 08:58 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 86
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 86
FOLLOW the programming recommendations from Comdial to the "T". One of the biggest issues I have found is that the agents cannot have any group intercoms at all. Do not attempt to send a DID directly to the Customer Service Box, setup a Routing Box with a 1 second of silence recorded as the greeting and send it to the Customer Service Box if no digit dialed after 0 seconds. Could be some more things that may be needed depending on your setup.

Re: Anyone have experience using Interchange 12.0 ECS with reporting?
#37385 08/22/07 09:01 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 86
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 86
Forgot to mention also ensure you have a separate PC running at 850MHZ plus to use as the report server.

Re: Anyone have experience using Interchange 12.0 ECS with reporting?
#37386 08/22/07 09:31 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
OP Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
So a separate PC, to be used as the reports server (web reports server)?? I was very suspicious of the need for this, but hadn't yet seen anything documenting stating the need, unless I missed it.

When you ran into this, did you know it ahead of time, or was it something where you had to do it after running into problems (moving reports off of the voicemail PC)? What hardware platform was the voicemail on? Was it an enterprise platform, or one of the recent towers?

You are talking about 12.0 ECS, NOT the Conversip Call Center, right?

Justin

Re: Anyone have experience using Interchange 12.0 ECS with reporting?
#37387 08/23/07 03:13 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 86
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 86
It was 12.1 ECS and I have used it mostly on the LSC computers. I learned the hard way on the first implementation. We now sell the user a Dell desktop whenever the request the ECS. It works considerably better than the old 11.0 software level. It can be connected to the network with a static IP but doesn't require joining the domain.

Re: Anyone have experience using Interchange 12.0 ECS with reporting?
#37388 08/24/07 06:29 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 927
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 927
Hi,

Also make sure you are running dialogic boards. It works much better with ecs.

Jim


Jim Hoey

SST Communications
597 West Montauk Highway
Lindenhurst, New York 11757

631 956-0100

www.sstcom.com

Business telephone systems on Long Island and New York City like Comdial, Vertical, Avaya, Panasonic
Re: Anyone have experience using Interchange 12.0 ECS with reporting?
#37389 09/12/07 08:05 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
The Seperate machine for the reports server was to spare the VM machine from grinding to a halt when doing a large query for reports. The SQL query for say, a few months worth of reports data, will steal all the CPU cycles from the VM and possibly interrupt call processing. If you don't generate reports and just use the applets, or your queries and call traffic is minimal, it should be fine on the same machine? What issues did you run into Dir920?
Good call on the Dialogic boards smile

Re: Anyone have experience using Interchange 12.0 ECS with reporting?
#37390 09/12/07 08:18 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
Right. Now I remember. The reports server has a different version of Java and can change the JAVA_HOME path. The same thing happens if you upgrade Java on the VM machine. The result is that the sms service won't start until you tweak some directory paths. Better keep em seperate.

Re: Anyone have experience using Interchange 12.0 ECS with reporting?
#37391 09/21/07 01:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,021
Likes: 1
Admin
*****
Online Content
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,021
Likes: 1
UPDATE!!!! If you back up the data on the report server PC and do not stop the MY SQL service it will corrupt. Found this out after fighting reports issues for months. Build a batch file to stop the My SQL, Tomkat, and KVT services, back up and restart.


[Linked Image]

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
TDA50G power consumption
by kenc - 09/27/20 01:23 PM
Caller ID and Panasonic PBX/VMS & ATT
by DonaldR - 09/25/20 01:42 PM
Comdial DX-80 Voicemail Routing
by perryldonald - 09/25/20 12:48 PM
Separate day/night schedules on TDE100
by EV607797 - 09/25/20 03:29 AM
Who's Online Now
29 members (EV607797, Noobed2336, LenShustek, hbiss, nortelvoip, justbill, hitechcomm, Silversam, usedphones, metelcom, jsaad, phonman123, Telesystems, ECI Tech, BobRobert, Yoda, C5Z, dexman, Ruben, newtecky, nameless, Tip&Ring, RATHER BE FISHING, kenc, MarcTopia, Touch Tone Tommy, wikiwarrior22, Meyery2k, JBean3329), 131 guests, and 37 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,972
Posts637,334
Members49,354
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
bcampbell, Joe Brez, masonville
Newest Members
Adam19871, tmr-afmk, Big Alan, simsh, bencahill
49354 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 34
hbiss 13
teleco 10
ABLE1 9
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners