Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#37601 09/14/07 09:15 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 145
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 145
have a customer with a 3 cabnet FXII. 197 17E. I can connect to com 1 with hyperterm which lets me look at ow things are programed. I also have the correct version of VMMI for this release. I found the pin out for the serial port from a comdial manual and have configured an adapter accordingly. When i try to connect to the switch with VMMI I get an error of (the login has failed. Check to make sure the communications parameters are correct. I am using a bilcon usb to serial adaptor. It works with hyperterm on this system, and anyother systems i connect to. any ideas??? help


businesstelephoneofpa.com

Planing your phones future is our business.
GA
#37602 09/14/07 10:24 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Nothing is changing between your successful connection with Hyperterminal and trying with VMMI?

#37603 09/14/07 10:33 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 145
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 145
Correct


businesstelephoneofpa.com

Planing your phones future is our business.
#37604 09/14/07 10:34 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Assuming you are using same Com port settings, same baud rate, and shutting down (closing) Hyperterminal before trying to connect with VMMI, I would guess VMMI possibly doesn't like your USB to serial adapter.

#37605 09/14/07 10:35 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 145
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 145
Is password the same for hyperterm and VMMI


businesstelephoneofpa.com

Planing your phones future is our business.
#37606 09/14/07 10:36 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Yes. If it were password that was the issue, VMMI would tell you that it was the incorrect password.

#37607 09/14/07 10:54 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 145
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 145
Thanks guess ill look for a different adaptor


businesstelephoneofpa.com

Planing your phones future is our business.
#37608 09/14/07 10:54 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Or use a PC with a REAL serial port.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Old Equipment Plan
by MarkAtLMFJ - 03/05/21 04:41 PM
OS 7400 OAS
by John807 - 03/05/21 04:21 PM
Pair location
by backenhiemer - 03/05/21 10:44 AM
Coaxial Cable
by dexman - 03/04/21 03:53 AM
Netlink or CCIS
by Yoda - 03/02/21 02:32 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,285
Posts639,096
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
ciccotelli, esinoob, Michael M
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 28
Ruben 24
pvj 11
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
23 members (sundance, EV607797, backenhiemer, newtecky, Coral Tech, hbiss, nortelvoip, justbill, dexman, Bob3470, kjwiewall, jeffmoss26, PortlandTech, Touch Tone Tommy, Mercenary Roadie, Professor Shadow, nfcphoneman, JBean3329, Ruben, hitechcomm, RM SYSTEMS, nameless, Memphisribs), 258 guests, and 40 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners