Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Hiya

This problem has now occurred for 3 days running, and is driving us mad!

Seemingly, at midnight, when the system is set to reset the data etc, our 7400 is not re-booting correctly, as the CMS software cannot then find the phone system, so collects no data, also the system seems to go into whatever ringplan it wants, (thus meaning we have "active" DDI's hours before any staff arrive! , and our remote site, which runs about 20 VOIP phones, which are powered over IP also, several phones do not bind to the network correctly, and therefore are unreachable as they state "plug out"

ANY ideas welcome?

Im sure its to do with the 12 midnight thing, cos once I arrive and re-boot the system by powering it off and back on, the CMS finds it ok, However, this reboot does NOT fix the VOIP phones, which we have to restart each one manually......

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Member
*
Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Why does the system have to reboot every night?

I understand diagnostics and everything but there is no need for a reboot unless there is trouble.

At this point I would stop the reboot and just plain run the system just to see what happens.

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
okay i used the wrong word... it doesnt reboot, but it does "changeover" at midnight, refresh all the data etc

anyway, we have had to get a new processer this morning and send the faulty one away to samsung... so they can diagnose the problem!

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Its happening again!

:bang:

We had a new processor direct from Samsung, and sent our old one off, (they found no fault on it).


The only thing we can think it is now, is that overnight, it is running into a series of errors, that is enough to force it into a soft reset. This is not completing properly, as when I come into work in the morning, the CMS software has stopped collecting data, ALL of our VOIP phones are on "plug out" and when I ping the IP address of the phone system i get nothing.

The only resolve to this is performing a hard reset, which is not feesable every morning!

Anyone with similar problems? Or who knows what could be causing this ?

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Just a suggestion, fit the 7400 with a static IP if it doesn't have one, give it to Samsung and say, "Now the ball is in your court."

As technicians we are supposed to install and maintain equipment on a NORMAL level.

The 7100 has bugs a plenty, this is not your mother's 1A2 key system and the 7400 has infinitely more places for bugs to be hiding.

Samsung has to understand that when they build something this complicated, there will be bugs and having THEM figure it out is THEIR responsibility.

This is not a case of some tech being inexperienced and not knowing how to set up a toll restriction table, this is BUG work and Samsung does not issue training or certificates saying you are now equipped to do BUG work on machine code.

Drop the responsibility for this on their laps with the Static IP numbers. They have event recorders they can hook up via web or deliver to your doorstep for connection.

MOST LIKELY what will be required to SOLVE this is an event recorder either on site or over the web if possible.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
What version of software are installed on you 7400?
MP40-?
LP40-?

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Hi

We do have a static IP yes, and I am going to contact samsung now and see what they can do.

weve found a SORT of solution, which is no way good enough to maintain, but if we turn OFF the server PC every night, then everything still works fine the next day.

However, if we dont do this, then the problem still occurs!


Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,628
Posts635,876
Members49,589
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
BizTelNancy, djboston, dougtech, girlie girl, Jack Damage, SwedaGuy, SynapticSystems, tkalfaoglu
Newest Members
TVCTech, joe angi, TommyKay, 電信小吳, Partswatch
49,589 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 10
Toner 8
Yoda 5
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (bdunne), 139 guests, and 28 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5