EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
vpnproxymaster
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Turn your commission checks on autopilot with 50% RECURRING COMMISSIONS!
Flexibits
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing with Getresponse
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing. [2]
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#528251 10/26/11 12:18 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,295
Likes: 3
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,295
Likes: 3
I have a newly-installed SBX that I'm having trouble getting set up for remote IP programming access. I have the static IP address entered under PGM108, button 2 and the gateway IP address entered under button 4. I am using a 4 port switch that splits out the LAN connection to the SBX ahead of the customer's router. Is there something else that I'm missing?

PS: I'm not able to ping the SBX, but I can ping their gateway just fine.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 272
Ted Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 272
Hi Ed, everytime something doesn't work on the SBX i rock the power switch. I know you probably already did that but maybe...
ted

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,558
Likes: 1
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,558
Likes: 1
ditto on the power cycle, it actually says that !

' Somewhere '. I did remember reading it.

oh, and don't forget, port forwarding on Both TCP and UDP


I can see the light at the end of the tunnel..

Retirement 2019 ( It has happened )
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
If you can't ping it...it isn't on the web yet. Since you are ahead of the router all ports are open already. Are you sure it is an active public IP? Nine times out of ten when I can't ping a device hanging open on the web that is the problem...the ip has been shut down by the isp for inactivity or just stupidity.

The tenth reason is because I entered it, the ip address, wrong or the system needs a reset.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,295
Likes: 3
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,295
Likes: 3
We finally schlepped back up to Baltimore to check this out and found that the customer had entered the gateway's IP address incorrectly. It was nice of them to try, but I figured that this could be the only reason for a static IP not working. I couldn't scold the guy, since he did me a favor by attempting to enter the gateway IP.

Regardless, everything is working great now. Having a live system out there to play with is going to be fun.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 248
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 248
So you put a switch ahead of the router and then set the ABC's IP as the customers static address? Does the router use a second static address? Is this a preferred method to not have the system behind a router and completely open?

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
It is the method that works with the least amount of work. It is easier than port forwarding to an internal address, or sticking the SBX in the router DMZ. All the programming that lets SBX get out on the Web thru a router, like when using VOIP is one thing, letting packets come in, a whole different can of worms.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,295
Likes: 3
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,295
Likes: 3
@JCTSPhone:

Well not exactly. A $10.00 switch and a static IP saves hours of troubleshooting and finger pointing IF they have multiple static IPs available. In this case, the customer had extra IP addresses to use. The router uses their .210 address and they let us use their .211 address. It works flawlessly. We've been doing it that way for years with VOIP cards in systems as well. Set it up, plug it in, test it and it works forever.

When the customer or their IT person messes with the router, it doesn't have any effect on our stuff (or at least rarely). It isn't often that a commercial customer isn't afforded at least two IP addresses anyway.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 38
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 38
Does this work with setting the MBX up for remote admin too?


Earl
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
Yes, public IP assigned to the MBX and putting the system in front of any firewall is the easiest way to do it.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,431
Posts639,813
Members49,470
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
daleturb, GaryWJC, Mark F
Newest Members
AndreLS, JimLafleur, EssKayKay, xmestedex, PhoneGuy007
49,469 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 14
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
14 members (pvj, Curlycord, justbill, Professor Shadow, RUSS K., BrianS, teldata1, JBean3329, BobRobert, Skunky, BezLovesITAD, telecom guy10, Meyery2k, ffej010), 106 guests, and 75 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud