Phone Systems

AtcomCloud Online Store
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
greif Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
I see that KX-NCS 8102 IP softphone module seems to be aimed at travelers and talks about connecting with available WIFI and lan connections..... so it would seem to not need a router, hardware vpn and special hardware ip addresses.

Is that correct?

I think I need software vpn on the remote laptop
(or is this included with the softphone?

What kind of vpn/router is required on the main site end? (this is on a KX NCP1000 system.)

Thanks!


Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,426
Likes: 10
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,426
Likes: 10
Any client->server VPN connection on the laptop should work. Normally a company's existing IT guy would set this up.

Windows has VPN client capability built-in, but some routers such as the Cisco RV042 have a special (free) proprietary VPN client you have to use.

The VPN connection has nothing to do with the softphone; once it's established the softphone will simply talk to the private IP's of the PBX.


Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,685
Posts636,169
Members49,606
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Baron-B, Breneer, dingaling, EV607797, Jase, MED, Mike Robertson, MILLBAX, RANJAN, RootExposure, Tman66
Newest Members
Uranium-235, grahamw, Motel6Guy, JustAGuy, Dialtony
49,605 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 10
Yoda 9
dexman 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 30 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5