Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#570367 04/17/14 10:36 AM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 13
wh8428 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 13
On the 1a2 system you all graciously helped me set up, my primary phone is an itt speakerphone model 2842. Last night in the middle of a call, the speaker quit working. When I push the "ON" button the line button lights but I have no sound from the speaker and the "ON" button for the speaker phone wont light up.

I tried the obvious making sure the thing is plugged in.

Any ideas ? I love this phone but if I cant get it to work my next post is going to be about setting up a Nortel system at home and selling the 1a2


Thanks in advance for helping me with this.

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 575
Likes: 1
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 575
Likes: 1
Check for loose or disconnected connections in the phone. That's what I'd do first. Also check your power supply, if it's the type with the screw terminals on the power supply block, make sure nothing is frayed, etc.

One thing you could do is get an analog phone card (or some ATAs) for your Nortel system and they'll work in conjuction with each other. You can enjoy the old and the new at the same time... I did this with my 1A2 and Avaya Partner system.


The Concipio Group | Technology and Business Savvy Brought Together | www.concipiogroup.com | (855) 475-6888
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Did you hang up violently on a telemarketer late last night? You might have jiggled something. Take the housing off the phone, and carefully inspect all the contacts on the hookswitch that make and break when you go off- and on-hook. There is a sequence that must be made to transfer from handset to speakerphone use. If you establish a call the normal way with the handset, and then try to transfer to speakerphone, what happens?



Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 13
wh8428 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 13
I havent opened the phone yet, power supply looks ok. I actually had someone on the speakerphone, ran to get something and when I came back the "ON" light for the speaker phone was not lit but the line button was still lit.

Will check and report back.

If I do ditch the 1a2 and go to nortel, I see online that I can buy an inexpensive "BCM" unit. If all I want to do is drive a few T7316 phones, and all I have is 2 lines, do I need any additional equipment ? Forgive my ignorance, I learned the 1a2 as I went. I used to have a norstar phone at work and I loved the high quality speakerphone, it was almost as good as my 1a2 speakerphone.

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Stick a voltmeter on the transformer, first. Maybe it died.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 575
Likes: 1
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 575
Likes: 1
Sending PM about Nortel stuff.


The Concipio Group | Technology and Business Savvy Brought Together | www.concipiogroup.com | (855) 475-6888

Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,379
Posts634,605
Members49,525
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
dcttech, George/wa2vnv, telesalesrep
Newest Members
NiagaraGuy, Luv2uallday, FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines
49,525 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 21
dexman 11
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Mercenary Roadie), 5 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5