Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 111
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 111
does anyone have a solution to replace the backup battery that is soldered onto the main board on the KSU? I have a customer who has a bad battery and if when the power fails they loose their database programming. I do have an APC UPS connected, however if power is out more than an hour that of course is going to be out of juice.


TekLink Solutions
Havre, Montana 59501
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
I've had the battery made at batteries plus then replaced them on site usually go in after hours since the system is down for a hour or so


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
here is a older thread on it

good suggestions here


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 971
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 971
I order the battery's from MOUSER 800-346-6873.


-TJ-
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 648
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 648
Likes: 1
I agree with Skip. I have recently started taking my boards or the entire KSU itself to Batteries Plus. They will solder a new battery in minutes. They also have never charged me anything to do it, just for the battery.


"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,820
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,820
I order batteries from Aztec. I solder them on myself. You don't have to remove the motherboard. Power down the system, turn the battery switch off then twist the old battery back and forth a couple of times until it snaps off and solder a new one right in its place. Turn the battery switch back on, take a voltage reading and make sure you have over three volts, power up the system. Set time and date, power it off and back on again and make sure it defaults with switch 8 in the safe position. Reprogram. Good to go.

Last edited by Derrick; 05/02/14 04:44 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
In the good old Tie days you could pop a lithium out of the battery tray and pop another one in (most of the units.)

Soldering in a new Battery Holder lets you have pop in batteries.

Good old Radio Shack.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.

Moderated by  EV607797, JWRacedog, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,378
Posts634,603
Members49,525
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
djone21, glacier37, Supert8ch
Newest Members
NiagaraGuy, Luv2uallday, FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines
49,525 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 20
dexman 10
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 16 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5