EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Daily Excellence
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#571497 05/09/14 08:03 PM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
Ratata Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
I have an Inter Tel phone system and I would like to know if someone when they get put on hold can hear an announcement on top of the hold music. For example, if someone call me and I put that person on hold they start hearing the music on hold. Can they hear an announcement while the person is on hold?

Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Sure, with a custom MOH recording. Depending on your system, you can have multiple music sources, defined by trunk group, hunt group or station.

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
Ratata Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
Thanks DND ON. I only have one MOH source. Can I have a Voice application play a custom recording when someone is on hold?

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
No, you can't.

In theory you could transfer the call to a CRA, but I wouldn't. There would be no way to retrieve the call, and you'll eat a voice mail port while the greeting is being played.

What model and version system do you have?

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 107
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 107
The only way to do it would be to transfer the call to a Hunt Group. Record 2 CRAs with messages that play in the hunt group as "Annoucement" and "Overflow" and they would hear MOH in between the announcements. You could still pick the calls as needed and/or the phones would still ring.


Inter-tel Axxess, Mitel CS/HX5000, MiVoice Office CCS/CSM, VPU, EM, ATM4, A+, CTP+, NET+, OAISYS, Audicodes, Polycom, Spectralink, NEC Red, Samsung, Mitel Call Recording, Mitel MBG, MiVoice Office, Xarios. Mitel Phone Manager
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
Ratata Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
Thank you guys. I forgot about this post because I put this project on the side. Anyway, I set up the CRA and it work, but how can I disabled the inhouse phone from hearing the message? I only want outside callers to hear the message. Anyway I can do that?

inter tel axxess version 11

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Put the call on hold instead of transferring it to the CRA.

How many voice mail ports to you have on that system?

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
Ratata Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
The system have 200 voice mail ports. What do you mean by putting the call on hold? The CRA message since to work, but when I dialed the HG from the in-house number I also hear the CRA message. Do you know a way to disabled the CRA message for in-house phone?


Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,198
Why would an internal station dial the hunt group instead of the extension number of the person they are trying to reach?

And no, you don't have 200 voice mail ports. Check under Voice Processor to see how many ports you have. This is important, because you're doing something that your system wasn't designed to do.

Every caller listening to those messages is eating up a voice mail port. This can lead to unintended consequences when all of your ports are busy, and incoming calls default to the Primary Attendant and no one can get into voice mail.

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
Ratata Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 62
I can't find how many email ports I have under Voice Processor. I only founded how many I'm using now. Under Number of Voice Channels I have a value of 16.

I guess I don't want to use a CRA if that is going to cause a problem. Do you know of another way I can do this?

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Stix1 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,466
Posts640,071
Members49,483
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
baldy, gtrs, laertao, patrick8154
Newest Members
Matt L, Goracing57, Michael Duffy, Jim22, hummerdave
49,482 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 37
Ruben 7
OBT 5
NordVPN
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
15 members (hitechcomm, sundance, Mercenary Roadie, dexman, BobRobert, justbill, jeffmoss26, Yoda, phonman123, metelcom, ToshiGal75, RATHER BE FISHING, mohammed abdelaa, 2 invisible), 113 guests, and 41 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud