Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#589411 05/27/15 07:00 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
mj_wald Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
So I have site A and site B with strata net between them
When a call comes into site A it is answered at site B and transferred back to A if needed.
This work great.

Question is, If the WAN is down, how can I fail over that number to ring locally rather then the remote site?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 228
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 228
How does the system direct calls to site B? Is it done by auto attendant or via the DIT of the trunk itself?


Jason

Toshiba/Avaya/Nortel Installations and Service.

Honeywell-Paradox-Kantech-Keyscan-HIKvision Access control and CCTV
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
mj_wald Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
Using the DID table, did xxx-xxxx rings station 7300, 7300 is a network DN.


Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 228
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 228
The only way I could think of setting this up would be if you used pilot DN's, this gives you an alternate DN destination. I have only used pilots for ACD though so it may not be suitable for this.

Manually you could use your day1/day2/night options to allow for a change in destination if your stratanet goes down. This can mess with othe day/night functions though (ie live answer/auto attendant mode)


Jason

Toshiba/Avaya/Nortel Installations and Service.

Honeywell-Paradox-Kantech-Keyscan-HIKvision Access control and CCTV
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,645
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,645
Likes: 4
I ran into the same situation and I could not come up with a solution.

I don't think the Pilot DN will work because without an ACD all calls will be directed to the alternate destination.

I thought about something using CF-Busy, but the forwarding of a remote DN would be controlled by the remote system.

The voice mail may be able to detect a busy extension, and maybe you could have the voice mail system route the call to a different destination on busy. This would require a local VM system that answers the call first. In my scenario there was no local VM to try.

I also thought about the fact that SYS call forwarded templates have a 2nd alternate destination, but that would require the lines to ring at a local extension first. But maybe you could have a station set with DND on, and system CF-DND with Destination 1 as the remote extension and Destination 2 as the local extension.


Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 933
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 933
Likes: 1
Why don't you port the phone numbers that need to ring at site A over to site B and make that the prime answering destination, then the calls can be transferred over to site A if required.


Regards
Carl

Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,735
Posts636,399
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
BroadcastEngineer, itrains, James Walker, Mpp1994, rockie, sarah1klein, thomas TES-824
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 31 guests, and 26 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5