Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#598365 02/26/16 02:38 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
Just mulling.....

We're moving offices.
Decided to go with fiber over EOC (ethernet over copper), even though the pricepoint is about 2X. IMO, huge dramatic decline in maintenance, repair, etc with copper these days.

Same goes for our Voice. Debating/Mulling over how I'm going to feed the PBX. We do have SIP trunks in it already, but that's mainly for backup trunks.

Mulling over a *old school ISN PRI*, in which only a handful of carriers still offer as such---and yes, it runs over copper. Then's theirs latter options that are IP centric.

For all of ya'll that refer, advise, etc - what's your take. Hell, I have another site with a chronic. OSP has given us 2 months on the ETA on repair/replacement...

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
pingable #598366 02/26/16 02:49 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
What PBX

pingable #598367 02/26/16 02:59 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
IPO. We currently use a PRI with SIP

pingable #598368 02/26/16 04:12 AM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Just installed a larger PBX (well large for us, about 50 extensions) and the customer went with AT&T SIP over fiber shared with their main internet connection (aka AT&T Flex BVoIP). At our office we have SIP over a dedicated T1 from Windstream. Both have proven to be reliable. We did have a 5 minute or so Windstream outage this past fall, however.

We have a third customer that has a PRI over fiber from AT&T.

In every case, however, the SIP was provided by the company providing the circuit. I've tried third party SIP providers at home (using pro grade equipment) and it has not been as reliable.

As long as your PBX plays nice with SIP, the SIP trunks and circuit are from the same provider, and the circuit is of good quality, it seems like a safe choice.

pingable #598370 02/26/16 05:43 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,217
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,217
I say go fiber when possible. I can' see a downside besides it's expensive right now. It'll eventually come down.


Aaron
pingable #598381 02/26/16 01:58 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
You know all of this said, AT&T relies on copper to support fiber and assumes everyone still has at least 1 copper trunk. They include a US Robotics 56k modem with every fiber install in order to access their on site router incase the fiber goes down.

So I guess copper does still rule supreme in reliability.

Last edited by Andyreed; 02/26/16 01:58 PM.
pingable #598423 02/27/16 03:55 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
If the fiber is down....regardless of CPE management capability via a dialup, what's the benefit....as the prem. is still Hard Down regardless..

pingable #598425 02/27/16 06:46 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 101
I guess the idea is that they can remotely reboot the CPE, or make configuration changes in hopes of restoring service.

pingable #598428 02/27/16 09:08 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 56
Broadband CPE is so cheap these days.....most "being the word" , IMO, would possibly ride over a secondary ~high speed~ circuit and come into the equipment via a secondary route, IMO. It's been eons since I've seen or even consider dial up a secondary means on getting in, if the primary is down

pingable #598438 02/28/16 05:15 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Fiber is much more reliable than copper. The LECs are not maintaining copper properly. In fact, many places where Verizon is the LEC, their fix for bad pairs is install FiOS. As you may know, there is a theoretical limit to bandwidth on copper. I don't know of anything commercially available that approaches that limit, however, that limit is based on good copper from termination to termination. Today, that's a gamble.

I have a problem with SIP in that some politician or some money greedy entity will somehow find a way to either tax the use of the internet or make the use of SIP and VoIP metered, just like dedicated lines/trunks are now. Then the advantage will go away and what is left? At least, with fiber, the provider may be able to bundle services for an advantage as opposed to what we have now.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  MooreTel 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,827
Posts636,768
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Dan Powell, EKPTECH86, History, LinuxTech, Mike Miller, ttcfcl
Newest Members
KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl
49,644 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 16 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5