Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#600329 04/29/16 08:03 PM
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
takxvm Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
We have an old Active Voice Voicemail system running on OS/2 that had the hard drive crash. I have the diskettes and installed OS/2 but the set up is asking a few questions that I know. Can someone help out?
It is asking for the VBPC Serial ID and another question is Mu-law or A-Law?
Any help would be appreciated?
We are a non-profit organization and vendors want to sell us a new system for $10,000. We only have 14 users on this system
Thank you

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
There is a "dongle" on the computer plugged into the printer port. That device has a serial number. You will need to know that as well. Also, you need to know the serial number of the voice card (VBPC)that all the extensions connect to. You have to open the computer to find that one.

Choose ยต-law (Mu-Law.) A-Law is for Europe.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,114
Likes: 3
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,114
Likes: 3
Moving topic to "Voicemail" forum.


I Love FEATURE 00
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
takxvm Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Thank you for your help
I have the green dongle that's in the parallel port and I have the serial number, but when I reconfigure the voiceboard settings, it is asking for "Which VPPC Serial ID's for D/81A #1, VBPC Serial ID (terminated VBPC Card)". I took the cards out of the computer but cannot find a Serial ID.
I have 2 cards in the system, D/81A 8 Port Voice Board and VB-PC AT&T Voice Bridge PC Integration cards.
When it reboots, it shows. Voice Bridge PC failed to install because of a bad Serial ID.
Do you know where the Serial ID is located? Thanks again. This system is so old, I can't find anyone to work on it.
Thanks again

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,024
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,024
Likes: 1
ordinarily you would find it on the board with a sticker or on the metal edge where the ports are. usually it was a 4 digit number.

repartee is a great product, for sure. what type of phone system is it?

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
takxvm Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Thanks, I'll over and check. Maybe the sticker fell off.
It is a Definity phone system.
Just like to thank you for your help and also Scott from WellComm who called me trying to help. Everyone on this forum is fantastic and thank you for your help and support. Really appreciate it. Too bad you are not in the NY area.
Thanks again, I'll try it and post the results if it helps someone else.

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
takxvm Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Thank you, I found the 4 digit number on the side of the card. It was right in front of me, but I was typing the AT&T also.
I got the system to work. I appreciate all of those who helped me out, I couldn't have done it without you.
If anyone needs a hand with an Active Voice Repartee running on OS/2, let me know
Thanks again

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
takxvm Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
One more item, if I may:
I set up the voicemail but when transferring from the opening greeting to an extension, we used to hear the phone ringing. Now we don't hear anything for about 25 seconds. Is there a way to add the ringing noise or music so people don't think the system disconnected them.
Thanks alot

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,481
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,481
Likes: 1
Active voice might be set to supervised transfer if so change to un-supervised.



We get old too soon, smart too late
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,273
Likes: 1
In the mailbox settings, set Release to yes.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  5years&counting 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,830
Posts636,775
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Florencio, HtownDan, Kerry2362, Lorena Catalan, SWB, telecom5000, Tex Tel Marine
Newest Members
Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D
49,645 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 159 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5