Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 57
sonnym Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 57
looking for recommendation for good router for sip lines. system os7200 and provider is SoTel with ubigate switch.
Thank you

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
We use Netgear

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 574
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 574
We always use draytex

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 13
NB1 Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 13
Dreytek all the way

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 139
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 139
We use draytek but haven't really had any issues with other makes as long as you can turn SIP ALG off.

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 679
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 679
Have had good success with Sonicwall, Linksys and Netgear. So really can't complain. Just on the newer ones you must turn off SIP Alg to allow audio to go through.

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 302
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 302
Netgear WNR2000 V5

Seems to work well and reliably

Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 33
We use Draytek, and definitely don't use Netcomm.

Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Mikrotik RB2011. The most versatile, configurable, flexible router/firewall at a very economical price. You have to build the configuration yourself (I can you send info on how we do it), but you can create QoS rules, capture packets, run scripts, set up VPNs, guest wifi, and much more. As you probably know, there are aspects of SIP that can be challenging. You have the ALG situation to deal with, and many routers don't let you turn that off. You need to prioritize the VoIP data and perform some level of QoS. Plus we have found in many cases we have to play with the UDP timeout value as some times there may be a long enough idle period on port 5060 that the connection times out and the some routers drop it. There is a very helpful user community for Mikrotik routers. We have worked with Sonicwall, Fortinet, Cisco, Netgear, and tons of others, and I have never found a router as flexible as the Mikrotiks, especially at their price point. If you want advanced features like built in virus protection and web filtering by subscription service, it is not the right product. If you shy away from getting down and dirty in the config, it might not be for you either. But if you don't mind rolling up your sleeves, it's a great little router. The RB951 works well, too.

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Rick,
I've used the Mikrotik and I second your opinion. You also reminded me I need to get one for our test lab.
Thanks,


John 807

Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,784
Members49,647
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Florencio, HtownDan, Kerry2362, Lorena Catalan, SWB, telecom5000, Tex Tel Marine
Newest Members
Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm
49,646 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 11
Who's Online Now
4 members (Toner, JBean3329, RATHER BE FISHING, Curlycord), 102 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5