Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
I have a situation where a customer wants the DID for three stations to be displayed as caller ID on outbound calls. I looked at station attributes 4 for each station and they had the same number (customer's BTN) entered as the long CLI entry. I changed this and updated, but it had no effect. I contacted tech support and they told me that I also had to mark each of the PRI channels for long CLI. I was then rushed off the phone for what seemed to be a simple answer.

It doesn't work. The BTN is still being sent for all outgoing calls. I would like to blame Cox (the service provider for the PRI) for not having call screening established on the circuit. The problem with that is that every other Cox PRI in this market that I've encountered has this feature in place by default. Am I missing something in my programming?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
The way it works with cox now, you can't change the outbound caller id to just any ole number, it has to be one of their billed did numbers and has to match exactly.

Last edited by Derrick; 09/13/16 12:09 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
These are all Cox DID numbers.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Outgoing CLI Service (page 1-139 FP 3.5 prg and ops manual.)
When enabled, this feature sends calling information to any destination an SBX station dials.
NOTE: Whether or not the information is then displayed on the destination phone depends upon whether
or not that phone has incoming CLI capability.(duh)
CONDITIONS
• When the Call Type is set to NATIONAL, the outgoing CLI is generated as a National
Number.
• When a value is entered for the ISDN CLI of a station, the value entered is used as the CLI
suffix when the outgoing CLI is generated.
• When a value is entered in the MY AREA CODE field, the entered value is used as the
CLI prefix when the outgoing CLI is generate.
• If a value is entered for the My Area Prefix Code, it can be used in conjunction with the
"MY AREA CODE" feature.
• When a value is entered in the CLIP/COLP Table, and the CLIP Table Index is set as the
front entry number, it is used as the middle portion of CLI when the outgoing CLI is
generated.
• If the CLI Restriction is enabled, CLI transmission is restricted.

I used to run into issues like this if it was a Cox SIP delivered PRI. A outbound did number not listed would not allow the call to complete...some kind of anti-spoofing measure I guess.

Last edited by Derrick; 09/13/16 12:35 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
It's all over the place in the manual, but I think I've narrowed it down to station attributes IV since other stations in the same system are doing this just fine. I sure wish that they didn't reinvent the wheel when they came up with this system (or more importantly, the documentation). If they had just stuck with the same terminology and acronyms, I wouldn't be here right now.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
PGM 114 flex 5 set to 0 but that should be there already I bet.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
I'll probably go by there tomorrow or Friday. I'll check back and let everyone know what happens.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX

Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,830
Posts636,773
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Florencio, HtownDan, Kerry2362, Lorena Catalan, SWB, telecom5000, Tex Tel Marine
Newest Members
Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D
49,645 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
2 members (newtecky, nortelvoip), 146 guests, and 24 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5