web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
C64PC Offline OP
OP Offline
Hello all! I am still learning as I go so bear with me.
Trying to fix a damaged cable at a site I was called to. Apparently their cleaning crew were stripping down and waxing the floors. Their machines somehow caught the phones cables and damaged the cables and pulled the jacks from the walls (the other jacks were covered with wax, etc). So far I fixed three out of 4 by replacing the jack ports with cat 5e (RJ11 compatible) (all I had at the moment) ports. So far so good except for the last one. I can tone it out, but no voice. I can test it with a butt set on the demarc and hear/see the provider, but still no voice at the customers jack. I replaced the jack 2 times, still no voice. Any advice guys.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
Are you sure that you're testing the "Voice" on the right pair for that jack? Was it originally using a "Split Pair"?

Possible that when their machine pulled the jack from the wall, it damaged the cable. Try another pair on it. If no pairs, or any combination of pairs still don't work, change the cable to the jack.

Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
C64PC Offline OP
OP Offline