Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: May 2017
Posts: 2
don0620 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2017
Posts: 2
I'm a new business owner currently on an install and am running into some issues I could use some help on. I don't have a lot of programming exp. but am learning. I am on a PRI through Comcast and am trying to set up 3 different call forwards for 3 different station groups (x-100, 200 300) which are different biz. When I place x-100 on DND night mode, x-200 & x-300 (different DID's) go into night mode too but I don't want them to....make sense? Can some one help...?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
What system are you using?


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: May 2017
Posts: 2
don0620 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2017
Posts: 2
Oops, that would help..


Vertical Summit 800

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Did numbers are like extensions, you can't keep them from going into night mode when the attendant puts the system into night mode, but what you can do is make the day and night destination for any did the same thing for example xxx 5100 rings to extension 100 during the day, just set it to ring to 100 during the night.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,148
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,148
You'll need to put the extensions into different intercom groups, and then update each DID for the proper intercom group. You'll then be able to have different attendants for each group.

I've only had to do this once, so I don't remember the exact steps. Look in the manual for ICM Groups and you can probably figure it out.


Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,824
Posts636,752
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Chad Hoffman, frankhines, jnawrocki
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 11
pvj 11
Toner 7
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 165 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5