Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#613740 10/30/17 12:54 AM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
intrajm Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
I have a summit 80 that works perfect at the California location with 13 sip lines. I installed 5 Voip phones to the summit 80 in Arizona. The phones register in California on the Summit 80 and work as they should except for the following. You can use 2 of the lines in California with no issue. Calls come in and call out great. These two lines are located on the VOIU card. The 11 sip trunks located on the VOIB48 board have no talk path, when you make a call or receive a call you can answer it and see Caller ID but no talk path. Any suggestions?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
I wish I could be more help with this, unfortunately I don't have a lot of experience with Sip and the Summit. I suspect that the Summit is using two or possibly three ip addresses to make both the cpu, the viou and the 48 port card function? I have worked with voip and sip with the SBX. Sometimes when there is no talkpath with the SBX, it is caused by a port or ports problem with an ip address, the voice protocol is being blocked by a router/firewall.

Last edited by Derrick; 10/31/17 12:57 AM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
intrajm Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
I kind of think that is what it is. Vertical tech support is not very responsive. But I'm waiting on the data pack readings from them. I'll post when it get's resolved. I may go out there and deactivate the firewall to see if that clears it up. If it works, then it is the firewall blocking something.

Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 26
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 26
Any luck solving this issue? Just curious. I noticed the port usage chart shows different call media ports depending on if the voip channel is on the voiu or vvmu so I assume the 48 port card is different ports as well but knowing vertical there is no documentation on it... bypassing the firewall should resolve it then.

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 48
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 48
the voiu & the voim would have different sequence numbers which you can see in pmg 101
you may have to put your public IP in pmg 132 for that sequence number you can put it in opt 3 & 4 in that program
that may give you speech.


emeraldpaddy
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
The VOIU (KSU IP) and VOIP48 card would have different IP addresses. If you do not have a VPN in place your issue would likely be port forwarding related. The VOIP48 card is the same as the VVMU as far as Port Forwarding goes.


Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,820
Posts636,739
Members49,643
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Airdale, AnnetteLee, AnnettesDayIsUg, bigboy, Blackline, boomj, db Communications, gwh, samcorcione9111, Victor D.
Newest Members
julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford, Nigel S
49,642 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
pvj 12
ramo 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (pvj), 113 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5