Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#615463 01/16/18 02:21 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
All of my compatibility Charts only go up to 6.1
Does anyone have a chart for 7.1?
I would love a copy.

I have a customer with a MICS 4.1 and NAM Voice Mail.
Problem is it just does a reset when it feels like it.
Not a Power issue - it is now on a brand new UPS. - same problem.

If I have to replace the KSU I would like to go to 7.1 since it has a PRI.
But then I have to make sure the NAM VM will still work.
I have a feeling it will not.

I could just try a new power supply - not too expensive.
I could try a new Software card - 4.1 - will it keep its programming when I replace it?? Will it keep the PRI key code?

The next step is to replace the KSU. and s/w card. Does that great piece of ____ Avaya still change Key Codes for a new Sys ID ?

Trying to find the fix for the reset and keep the costs down for the customer.
Thanks for any feedback.




If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
NTlayoff #615464 01/16/18 02:54 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
I think the last Nam release was 4.1 which would be compatible with 7.1. If you change the ksu the system ID will change and the Pri keycode would need to be regenerated. If memory serves me correctly if you go to 7.1 with out going through the upgrade steps and just short the cap you can still use the Pri code as long as you have a record of it. I would make a back up using NRU and try a new power supply first. Then the S/W and then the cabinet as a last resort.
Good Luck, let us know what you find.


John 807
NTlayoff #615569 01/18/18 12:33 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,610
Swap 4.1 for 4.1 should not effect anything.
However shorting caps not changing the system ID is something I had thought would have but never tested it.....there are many case where people say a STARTUP did not change their SYSID's
And FYI if starting from scratch you can upgrade without shorting caps by simply doing a STARTUP then when "Applying Template wait 20 secs, pull the power and swap the software.

Somehow if I recall and Avaya support tech did a favor a few years back and re-generated a PRI code after Norstar support ended (BCM is November 2018), best to call and ask first.

This is where I keep a fully loaded BCM50 w/Exp Cabinets and DTI Mod and Station/Trunk Mod in the truck just in case.

Here is the 7.1 Matrix


=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




NTlayoff #615574 01/18/18 02:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Moderator-Nortel
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,086
Curlycord: Thanks for the 7.1 Matrix
Right now I am waiting for one more reset - then I will go for the 4.1 s/w Card.

Thanks


If CON is the opposite of PRO
Then what is the opposite of Progress?

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,834
Posts636,792
Members49,652
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
machinegod, Gtownpaper, Lazlo, devben, bubblegum
49,651 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 32 guests, and 32 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5