Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#618760 04/11/18 08:22 PM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
I had this phone system passed on to me as I took a new job, and I am quickly learning a lot about it however I am struggling to figure out an issue.

We have a two Cisco RV320 creating a VPN tunnels between offices, and trying to configure the remote phones to hit the local SIP server.

I can ping back and forth across the network

The Local Cisco Router 10.1.10.1
The Remote Cisco Router is 192.168.3.1

The local SIP server IP address is 10.1.10.112

The remote phone is setup as the following

IP 192.168.3.155
Subnet 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.3.1

SIP IP 10.1.10.112

It is getting SIP server not found error

Any IDEAS?


Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
A lot. Is this an existing VOIP network or are you just setting it up?

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
It is a new VPN addition to existing phone system


Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Are there additional configuration that needs to be made in order for the traffic to travel over the vpn?

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Depends on what you have programmed in network setting on the system. Why a VPN vs just doing NAT?

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
We need the VPN for other purposes, but this decision was put in play before I was actually hired.

Is there no advantage to sending the traffic across the VPN?

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Depends on what you need the VPN for. VPN's in my experience simply add latency and steal bandwidth. But regardless you need to look at your network config on your phone system. Is the VPN actually working? Is the phone programmed correctly? Have you tested the phone on the local network to make sure it's functioning?

Last edited by Coral Tech; 04/12/18 01:21 PM.
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 137
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 137
Did you have a remote phone working before you added vpn? If so how two sites were connected before?

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Yes the VPN is working I can ping from either side and have even transferred a file across.

Phone were connected with a Public IP address as the SIP Server previously, we are trying to use the VPN for security purposes.

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Well first question did you turn off NAT on the phones?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,827
Posts636,768
Members49,645
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Dan Powell, EKPTECH86, History, LinuxTech, Mike Miller, ttcfcl
Newest Members
KoolBreeze, PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl
49,644 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 12
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 12 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5