Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 7
I have a Valcom V-9927a that is used with our paging and bell system and want to use a windows program to provide the bell sounds.

I see that the V-9927A has a "signal in" for audio so I am figuring I can plug my laptop audio into that.

I cut open a spare stereo extension cable so I could have one end to plug into the laptop and the other end to wire with..

Which wire goes to which terminal of the two offered for signal in?



[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Look at the drawings on the next page of the manual. It appears it doesn't matter just so long as you use both 'Signal Inputs", I'm guessing it might be looking for a balanced signal.


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Why do you want to use your computer to provide the bell sounds? Isn't that what the Valcom does??

If you don't use the Valcom, eliminate it and connect your computer audio directly to your paging system.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,238
Likes: 5
Unless the Valcom is amplifiy the signal, or controlling it, like Hal said, why use it.

Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 7
I can’t follow all the wiring...it seemed to me that the Valcom is providing the power to the speakers and also makes the tone when intercom is used.

As for why I want a computer for my bells — right now a relay that is connected to the Valcom does not allow me to do complicated schedules like every other day bells combined with other schedule.


Software scheduler on an old computer is much cheaper and easier to work with than any relay I could find that would let me do the schedules I need.

I would love to get rid of the Valcom completely but I just can’t follow the existing wiring well enough to get rid of it.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 7
So of these wires:

red, white, and ground

[Linked Image from overclock.net]

Red and White to the two signal inputs and ground to the GND on the valcom?

Last edited by amateurhour; 08/26/18 08:33 PM.
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,334
Likes: 3
No. Those are two unbalanced stereo outputs. The Valcom has a single channel (mono) unbalanced input. You don't want to connect the two (right and left) channels together to get an unbalanced mono output either (as I think you are thinking) because you risk damaging your computers audio output stage.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Originally Posted by amateurhour
I can’t follow all the wiring...it seemed to me that the Valcom is providing the power to the speakers and also makes the tone when intercom is used.

As for why I want a computer for my bells — right now a relay that is connected to the Valcom does not allow me to do complicated schedules like every other day bells combined with other schedule.


Software scheduler on an old computer is much cheaper and easier to work with than any relay I could find that would let me do the schedules I need.

I would love to get rid of the Valcom completely but I just can’t follow the existing wiring well enough to get rid of it.

The Valcom V-99227a is just a tone generator. There is a paging amp somewhere being fed by it. No need to get rid of it.

I'm curious as to what the "relay" is that's triggering the Valcom now. There are lots of different products to trigger bells.

Hal's idea is an interesting one. You can do a lot of cool stuff with Arduino and Raspberry Pi devices, you just have to deal with the learning curve.



Moderated by  metelcom 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,824
Posts636,752
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
beegeezer, Matthaus
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 11
pvj 11
Toner 7
dans 5
Who's Online Now
4 members (Professor Shadow, Yoda, KoolBreeze, Coral Tech), 78 guests, and 26 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5