Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
I am remotely working with a customer who has a NEC DSX 80 v01.01.30. I am trying to configure/program the system for an external audio source for MOH. We have already connected the on-hold player to the CPU PCB input mini jack. The issue I am having is programming the system for the external audio source. I have read through all the manuals and have attempted to have the person onsite program from a NEC 22B desktop phone. I instructed to him to press **** for password. Once we access the system configuration menu we get stuck. I know I have to get to programming option 1521-01 to enable MOH and 3103-05 to define the MOH source, I'm just not sure how to get there from the initial menu screen.


Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by phonemeister; 04/26/19 07:31 AM. Reason: Passwords


Allen Wesley

Allen Wesley
Technical Support
Easy On Hold "The music on hold experts"
easyonhold.com


Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 249
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 249
I don't have a live system to check this on and don't remember the access levels, but you may not have access using a level 1 office admin login - you may need to have them log in with the level 3 system admin2 login.


www.highspeedtele.com
Dallas & Fort Worth, TX
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Ken,

I had them log in with password *** also, which is supposed to be admin2 level login and it takes me to the same menu.

Last edited by phonemeister; 04/26/19 07:31 AM. Reason: Passwords


Allen Wesley

Allen Wesley
Technical Support
Easy On Hold "The music on hold experts"
easyonhold.com


Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Upon further troubleshooting with the customer when pressing **** system password (****) + HOLD the phone is not entering programming mode. I know on some other OEM onsite PBX's you have to be on a certain extension to access programming, although I haven't read anywhere that is the case with NEC.

Last edited by phonemeister; 04/26/19 07:32 AM. Reason: Passwords


Allen Wesley

Allen Wesley
Technical Support
Easy On Hold "The music on hold experts"
easyonhold.com


Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 249
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 249
You should be able to login from any set. You mentioned when they login it takes them to the same menu no matter which access level they use... What menu is that? Have they tried the installer login as well? Does that take them to the same menu?


www.highspeedtele.com
Dallas & Fort Worth, TX
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,127
Likes: 1
Any bets the programming is fine and the MOH connector used was a stereo one rather than mono?

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
WOW, that's a old version
Ken B is correct, you can access system programming from any station.
By default MOH is disabled.

I would go onsite, This system has been around for awhile, I would replace the battery on the CPU.
Connect via a lap top and back up the data base.


We get old too soon, smart too late
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Coral Tech,

MOH connector is 3.5mm mono.



Allen Wesley

Allen Wesley
Technical Support
Easy On Hold "The music on hold experts"
easyonhold.com


Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 13
Originally Posted by dans
WOW, that's a old version
Ken B is correct, you can access system programming from any station.
By default MOH is disabled.

I would go onsite, This system has been around for awhile, I would replace the battery on the CPU.
Connect via a lap top and back up the data base.


Dans,

Unfortunately, I am not their phone tech and the person I'm working with onsite does not have working knowledge of the phone system. Is there a way to connect to the NEC CPU via either Ethernet cable or USB to access the DSX system administration web interface?




Allen Wesley

Allen Wesley
Technical Support
Easy On Hold "The music on hold experts"
easyonhold.com


Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,482
Likes: 1
You need system admin software to access via PC or lab top, the CPU has a ethernet port to do this.
They need to locate a company familiar with the DSX for service.


We get old too soon, smart too late
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,832
Posts636,785
Members49,649
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bravesfan, cjvio, Cory S., Jack Scott, l.landeche, TexasD
Newest Members
devben, bubblegum, Carl Arnold, Marjan Shaw, KoolBreeze
49,648 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 23 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5