Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
ACS 509 some exts not working
#630128 05/28/19 08:38 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
I have a 5 slot pbx system with 24 extensions (308E, 400EC, ASC 509 processor) and extensions ports 14, 16 & 17 have stopped working. It was after a monster storm, could be coincidence. I tried a different handset, not the problem. I have restarted the system a couple of times and no luck. Is it possible that these ports just quit working?

Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Re: ACS 509 some exts not working
mholmes911 #630131 05/28/19 09:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,680
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,680
If the system programming hasn't been corrupted, I'd replace the processor.


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
Re: ACS 509 some exts not working
mholmes911 #630135 05/28/19 10:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,266
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,266
Are the displays not working on those phones? I know you said you restarted the system. I just pull the plug. Sounds like you need a new ACS though. I have seen this a few times from lightning and the wiring isn't even outside the building. One time it took out the ethernet port on a network printer.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Re: ACS 509 some exts not working
mholmes911 #630137 05/28/19 10:59 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
dexman, how do I find out if the programming has been corrupted? Everything else is still working as expected as far as I know.

hbiss, the phones work just fine on other extensions.

This storm also took out a 24 port network switch. I was afraid that I'd need to replace the unit, they are just so expensive - I was hoping for a magic wand type solution.

Re: ACS 509 some exts not working
mholmes911 #630138 05/28/19 11:46 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,266
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,266
Originally Posted by mholmes911
dexman, how do I find out if the programming has been corrupted? Everything else is still working as expected as far as I know.


That's why I asked you if the displays were working on those phones that don't work. No way can programming cause the display to not work.

Originally Posted by mholmes911
hbiss, the phones work just fine on other extensions.


Irrelevant.

Originally Posted by mholmes911
This storm also took out a 24 port network switch. I was afraid that I'd need to replace the unit, they are just so expensive - I was hoping for a magic wand type solution.


That's not a good sign.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Re: ACS 509 some exts not working
hbiss #630142 05/29/19 01:15 AM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by hbiss
[quote=mholmes911]dexman, how do I find out if the programming has been corrupted? Everything else is still working as expected as far as I know.


Originally Posted by hbiss
That's why I asked you if the displays were working on those phones that don't work. No way can programming cause the display to not work.


The phones on the extensions in question do not have an lcd display. Only lights next to the buttons, which is why I said they work elsewhere.

Last edited by mholmes911; 05/29/19 01:17 AM.
Re: ACS 509 some exts not working
mholmes911 #630143 05/29/19 01:29 AM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,278
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,278
Back up to the PC Card
Disconnect from AC power
Remove AAA batteries
Disconnect all extension cables
Grab a display phone
Plug back into power
Test all functions of the display phone on all extension ports.
If any of them do not cause the display to work properly, or don't have audio, or don't dial out, those ports are bad and you should replace the ACS

If all extension ports work properly, re-install the AAA batteries and restore from the PC card
Test the display phone in all extension ports - if any do not function properly, programming is at fault, erase the configuration and reprogram

Reconnect the extension cables one by one, testing after each connection. If one connection causes the system to fail, troubleshoot the wiring run or telephone set connected to it.


Re: ACS 509 some exts not working
Touch Tone Tommy #630149 05/29/19 12:55 PM
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Thank you Touch Tone Tommy - I will give this a try.

Re: ACS 509 some exts not working
mholmes911 #630158 05/29/19 06:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,266
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,266
Quote
The phones on the extensions in question do not have an lcd display.


So you couldn't take a display phone from another location and try it???

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Re: ACS 509 some exts not working
mholmes911 #630368 06/09/19 11:46 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Originally Posted by mholmes911
Is it possible that these ports just quit working?


Yep, sounds like it.



Avaya SMB Authorized Business Partner. ACIS/APSS
ESI Certified Reseller/Installer
www.regal-comm.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
2199 Lithium battery
by brokeda - 10/24/20 06:01 PM
Colour Choice for X-16 gone...
by MooreTel - 10/24/20 01:49 AM
Are you an Asterisk Ace?
by Toner - 10/22/20 03:39 PM
SVMI Card settings backup & restore
by Hofman telekom - 10/21/20 01:46 PM
Who's Online Now
22 members (Curlycord, Professor Shadow, hbiss, peice, pvj, Noobed2336, JBean3329, justbill, DD782, brokeda, Yoda, hitechcomm, metelcom, Nickonicle, phonman123, newtecky, Joe Talbot, Mercenary Roadie, Bob3470, RATHER BE FISHING, Herk, jsb15), 125 guests, and 127 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,026
Posts637,644
Members49,368
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
Nickonicle, chelsea419, jsb15, C.t.c.73, Farquie
49368 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 20
Ruben 15
hbiss 12
Daniel 9
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners