EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Global Test Supply
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
eCommerce website for sale!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
nlodoen Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
We are in the process of migrating from PRI trunks to SIP trunks and haven't been able to get the outbound Caller ID name to display on the recipient's end of things. The Caller ID number is working fine but I can't seem to get the name to display. With the PRI I believe the carrier is responsible for setting the name that is shown to call recipients but I assume with SIP trunks it's set on our OS 7200. Any suggestions or tips would be appreciated. Thanks.

Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
nlodoen Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
Any suggestions anyone? I'm really stumped as to how to get the outbound caller name to work. Thanks.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,881
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,881
It is carrier dependant. Usually(st least here) it's set by the carrier.
You can try sip alias in dm 2.4.3
Might have to muck around with p-asserted id also (in the sip carrier options)

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
nlodoen Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks for taking the time to reply! I figured it was set by the carrier so I will ask them why they expect it to be set at my end of things (was part of their UAT process for the SIP trunk setup. Is it maybe so that we can display individual's names instead of just our company name as our PRI does? I had already tried the "Send SIP Alias" in 2.4.3 without any luck. "P Asserted ID Use" is set to None so I'll also try setting it to Primary and Alternative and see if that makes any difference. Thanks again.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,881
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,881
They will expect you to send cli number, I've not heard of requiring a name.

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
nlodoen Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
OK, that makes more sense. Will ask them what exactly they are looking for. Take care.

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 658
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 658
For us normally all we can control is the outbound number here in the US. The carrier is the one that does the name association.


Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,326
Posts634,274
Members49,512
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
CapeTownCraig, David S McCullough, Deshmukh_San
Newest Members
rahman08, stephanie123, Topekaks101, Contoso, Nick Smithler
49,511 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 11
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
19 members (Curlycord, SamsungCat, Schreiber, rahman08, hlwilliams, ThePhoneConnection, BobRobert, metelcom, hitechcomm, Mercenary Roadie, Yoda, Telephonemaven, Touch Tone Tommy, jsaad, justbill, RATHER BE FISHING, C5Z, JBean3329, Toner), 245 guests, and 191 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud