Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing
#634547 01/10/20 07:46 PM
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
I have hooked up a grandstream ht802 and have everything done up to FXS Port 1 registered, but can't get the pulse dialing to work on lets say a western electric 500 what have i done wrong?

Reply Quote
Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing
#634550 01/10/20 07:57 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,459
Admin
****
Offline
Admin
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,459
What's wrong is most if not all digital service won't accept pulse dialing, you'll nee to put a pulse to tone converter on it if you want to use your old rotary dial phone.


Retired phone dude
Reply Quote
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing
justbill #634552 01/10/20 08:02 PM
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Originally Posted by justbill
What's wrong is most if not all digital service won't accept pulse dialing, you'll nee to put a pulse to tone converter on it if you want to use your old rotary dial phone.

A little while ago Carl Navaro said this device would work with pulse dialing, and according to this post in another forum its supposed to work.this link

Last edited by Southernphoneman; 01/10/20 08:03 PM.
Reply Quote
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing
#634555 01/10/20 08:14 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,459
Admin
****
Offline
Admin
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,459
Well it evidently doesn't


Retired phone dude
Reply Quote
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing
#634556 01/10/20 08:21 PM
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Oh well thank you anyhow

Reply Quote
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing
#634565 01/10/20 10:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 619
Moderator-1A2
***
Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 619
I have the HT702's and I can confirm they do work with pulse dialing, but they are extremely finnicky about timing. An electronic phone that pulse dials will almost always work fine, but mechanical dials are hit or miss. Typically it'll dial an incorrect number as opposed to not working at all. Having just looked at the link you posted, have you checked to see if it has the most recent firmware. First thing that caught my eye in that post was a note about needing a 2017 or later firmware.

Reply Quote
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing
#634571 01/11/20 02:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,498
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,498
I recently discovered that, when I connect a rotary dial Western Electric telephone to the phone port on the back of my Canon imageCLASS MF726Cdw all in one, the machine converts dial pulse to touch tone. The Verizon FiOS ONT in our house does accept dial pulse, so, if I ever chose to connect any of our rotary dial phones, they will work. smile


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
Reply Quote
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing
dexman #634644 01/15/20 12:42 AM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 619
Moderator-1A2
***
Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 619
Originally Posted by dexman
I recently discovered that, when I connect a rotary dial Western Electric telephone to the phone port on the back of my Canon imageCLASS MF726Cdw all in one, the machine converts dial pulse to touch tone. The Verizon FiOS ONT in our house does accept dial pulse, so, if I ever chose to connect any of our rotary dial phones, they will work. smile


I always thought the ONT's would only accept tone dialing. That's good to know.

Reply Quote
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing
ChrisRR #634646 01/15/20 09:38 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,498
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,498
I suppose the ONT can be optioned to accept pulse dialing. If so, our unit was set to allow it. smile


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
Reply Quote
Quick Reply

Options
HTML is disabled
UBBCode is disabled
CAPTCHA Verification



Moderated by  MooreTel, Professor Shadow, skip555 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
NEC NMC Conf Bridge - delete recordings
by Bull Tone - 04/04/20 09:07 PM
CF All on SL2100
by Yoda - 04/03/20 11:45 PM
DISA setup using PRI DID numbers
by etdiego - 04/03/20 06:39 PM
Western Electric KS-16765 L2 Announcement Set
by Will H - 04/03/20 03:43 PM
SL1100 DTMF Sip
by teleco - 04/03/20 01:47 PM
Who's Online Now
12 members (Coral Tech, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, kjwiewall, Professor Shadow, jknichols, nonameyet, jab1780, Ruben, Yoda, STS E, seafort, Touch Tone Tommy), 148 guests, and 28 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,610
Posts635,203
Members49,262
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
benb, cix noob, jgeo, monvil008, NeO, Paul W, Stan Allen
Newest Members
TBS-Barron, Derek B, randyt, Justin FCMI, Link_HC
49262 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
Ruben 34
dexman 32
hbiss 15
Yoda 10
Keyset6 10
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners