Phone Systems


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing #634547 01/10/20 07:46 PM
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
I have hooked up a grandstream ht802 and have everything done up to FXS Port 1 registered, but can't get the pulse dialing to work on lets say a western electric 500 what have i done wrong?

Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing [Re: ] #634550 01/10/20 07:57 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,380
justbill Online Content
Admin
****
Online Content
Admin
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,380
What's wrong is most if not all digital service won't accept pulse dialing, you'll nee to put a pulse to tone converter on it if you want to use your old rotary dial phone.


Retired phone dude
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing [Re: justbill] #634552 01/10/20 08:02 PM
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Originally Posted by justbill
What's wrong is most if not all digital service won't accept pulse dialing, you'll nee to put a pulse to tone converter on it if you want to use your old rotary dial phone.

A little while ago Carl Navaro said this device would work with pulse dialing, and according to this post in another forum its supposed to work.this link

Last edited by Southernphoneman; 01/10/20 08:03 PM.
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing [Re: ] #634555 01/10/20 08:14 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,380
justbill Online Content
Admin
****
Online Content
Admin
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,380
Well it evidently doesn't


Retired phone dude
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing [Re: ] #634556 01/10/20 08:21 PM
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Southernphoneman
Unregistered
Oh well thank you anyhow

Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing [Re: ] #634565 01/10/20 10:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 615
ChrisRR Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 615
I have the HT702's and I can confirm they do work with pulse dialing, but they are extremely finnicky about timing. An electronic phone that pulse dials will almost always work fine, but mechanical dials are hit or miss. Typically it'll dial an incorrect number as opposed to not working at all. Having just looked at the link you posted, have you checked to see if it has the most recent firmware. First thing that caught my eye in that post was a note about needing a 2017 or later firmware.

Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing [Re: ] #634571 01/11/20 02:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,444
dexman Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,444
I recently discovered that, when I connect a rotary dial Western Electric telephone to the phone port on the back of my Canon imageCLASS MF726Cdw all in one, the machine converts dial pulse to touch tone. The Verizon FiOS ONT in our house does accept dial pulse, so, if I ever chose to connect any of our rotary dial phones, they will work. smile


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com
Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing [Re: dexman] #634644 01/15/20 12:42 AM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 615
ChrisRR Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 615
Originally Posted by dexman
I recently discovered that, when I connect a rotary dial Western Electric telephone to the phone port on the back of my Canon imageCLASS MF726Cdw all in one, the machine converts dial pulse to touch tone. The Verizon FiOS ONT in our house does accept dial pulse, so, if I ever chose to connect any of our rotary dial phones, they will work. smile


I always thought the ONT's would only accept tone dialing. That's good to know.

Re: Grandstream won't accept pulse dialing [Re: ChrisRR] #634646 01/15/20 09:38 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,444
dexman Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Online Content
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,444
I suppose the ONT can be optioned to accept pulse dialing. If so, our unit was set to allow it. smile


I Love FEATURE 00

www.dexman.webs.com

Moderated by  MooreTel, Professor Shadow, skip555 

ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Most Recent 5 Post
Admplified Handset
by phonman123 - 01/20/20 01:53 PM
Default mailbox password on NS700
by EV607797 - 01/20/20 07:56 AM
List your inventory for FREE!
by usedphones - 01/20/20 07:04 AM
What is a giveaway?
by usedphones - 01/20/20 06:57 AM
Power Extension cord for 79B1 Power Unit
by jb-alert@live.com - 01/19/20 06:30 PM
Who's Online Now
33 registered members (Steve Mull, Derrick, Peter P., rshackleford, KJPMaine, justbill, Frodo Baggins, STS E, MooreTel, jknichols, gelehu, Richie Rich, phonman123, Daniel, JBean3329, vicbob, BobRobert, Yoda, jb-alert@live.com, metelcom, EV607797, obs_cy, Hofman telekom, usedphones, Carl Navarro, RATHER BE FISHING, dexman, mongo5150, Professor Shadow, Bob3470, Tip&Ring, Silversam, Mercenary Roadie), 528 guests, and 171 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics(Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums65
Topics93,216
Posts633,746
Members49,212
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Darla, tctchief, zsmilessss
NEC DX-40 PKG $299 $50 off with purchase of a NEC PKG when you use PayPal at checkout! Code $50off$PayPal
NEC DX-40 PKG $249
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 26
Ruben 23
pvj 16
RESPONSIVE WEBSITE DEVELOPMENT
Bluewater Sailing
Become a Patron! https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Buy one Get one FREE when you use PayPal at checkout! Code T28P
Yealink $39.95 Buy one Get one FREE when you use PayPal on checkout! Code T28P
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners