Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Trunk Stuck
#638670 10/20/20 11:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
I probably searched a lot within the Intertel forum about this issue, but i can't pinpoint or phrase it correctly. Our issue is that we have lines that remain lit even if no one is using a line. When i check the keys - it gives me a 94002-003 so on. for the ones that are lit. What we usually perform to get rid of it is to reset our Cox box and the lines will eventually be free. Then the issue comes back after a day or two. Cycle repeats to clear it.

Have you had this issue with your Intertel? How can i resolve it?

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: Trunk Stuck
MarvinACE #638681 10/21/20 01:57 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 329
Likes: 1
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 329
Likes: 1
Is there an easy way to disconnect the lines from the phone system? it may be that something on the phone system is grabbing a line and not releasing it.


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Re: Trunk Stuck
MarvinACE #638683 10/21/20 03:46 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,276
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,276
I agree. I can't see how the cable modem has anything to do with it.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Re: Trunk Stuck
MarvinACE #638684 10/21/20 04:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Thanks everyone! Cox is here. Testing the modem or pots - seems to be going OK - He did see the lines not hanging up prior to the test. After that - performed a series of test and seems to be working again - No stuck lines or trunk. He is suspecting it is our Intertel system. More to follow. Wondering if i have to re - seat the cards?

If the phone system is grabbing the line and not releasing it, even though we did hang up. What would be a good starting point to troubleshoot it? besides resetting the modem. Because that seems to work every time.
I know i am dealing with a very old system but this one for all i know its built like a tank!

Last edited by MarvinACE; 10/21/20 04:20 PM.
Re: Trunk Stuck
MarvinACE #638685 10/21/20 06:05 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 329
Likes: 1
Member
Online Content
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 329
Likes: 1
if Unhooking the lines from the system clears the trouble (without rebooting the modem) then it is probably a disconnect supervision issue.
It is also possible that there is a stuck button on a phone somewhere that makes the system think that there is someone still on the line.


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Re: Trunk Stuck
Daniel #638686 10/21/20 06:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Hmm- i did my rounds yesterday, but i was not paying attention to the buttons. I'll go again. Thanks!

Re: Trunk Stuck
MarvinACE #638690 10/21/20 10:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Went through the rounds - checked the phones, no stuck keys - Went back to the box - checked all wires. For some reason - the ethernet cable is either old or loose, because a slight movement, the network light goes off. then comes back online. < - replaced it with a brand new patch cord. - No more lights getting stuck. I am not sure if this solved the issue - but it is holding steady and free of trouble.. Thank you for looking into it everyone!

Re: Trunk Stuck
MarvinACE #638815 11/02/20 10:32 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Spoke to soon - they are all lit again. frown

Re: Trunk Stuck
MarvinACE #638819 11/03/20 07:22 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,013
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,013
What Intertel system is it

Re: Trunk Stuck
hitechcomm #638822 11/03/20 11:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 20
Intertel 5000 - Got a reset from Cox Modem - all is good on their end - we still get lines stuck from time to time. Now i have to research a different issue. The phone just rings and sometimes it would hit the auto attendant. When it works or use to work. The line basically is geared to have multiple available ready to receive.for some reason, i tested it - I dial in - auto attendant kicks in - dial an extension - i tell my test buddy to hold as if we were talking - Dial from another phone to the main number -and usually it should go to the auto attendant, instead the new issue - it just rings.

Last edited by MarvinACE; 11/03/20 11:17 PM.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Stix1 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Most Recent 5 Post
test telephone number
by dude - 11/30/20 07:51 PM
DSU Serial Ports
by tylan - 11/30/20 07:21 PM
SVMi20i Error
by Bushmills - 11/30/20 07:00 PM
XTS database downloads crash
by EV607797 - 11/30/20 03:37 AM
9100 sip trunk
by juno - 11/28/20 09:51 PM
Who's Online Now
21 members (metelcom, EV607797, Skunky, Greg Ercolano, Mercenary Roadie, nortelvoip, pvj, hbiss, brokeda, Yoda, Coral Tech, justbill, MooreTel, Touch Tone Tommy, BobRobert, Bob3470, hitechcomm, Professor Shadow, Ben Holmes, JBean3329, tylan), 276 guests, and 53 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,091
Posts637,981
Members49,386
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
David Gillish, jkdawsey, kitjr123, MP Telecom, stephen1905
Newest Members
drextech, d_chats, LukeS, RickToshibaCIX, Geochurchi
49386 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
ABLE1 11
Daniel 10
hbiss 9
dans 6
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners