Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#638887 11/11/20 08:59 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
I have a new installation that will require 10 remote users,5 at 2 different locations. Is there a limit to how many remote users you can have?

Advertising Sponsor
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,598
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,598
For free, you can have 4 on each IP500. Past that, you can license the users with power user, which includes remote worker.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,301
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,301
Or set up site to site VPNs, the 2 sites will have different subnets from each other and from the main site, the phones will connect without any special licensing

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Is that over and above the seat license? How hard is setting up a VPN between sites?

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Oh, I forgot there is only one control unit, the phones there will be digital.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,085
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,085
I think remote users need IP phones

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Yes the 10 remote users will have ip phones, but there will be no control unit at those 2 locations

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,598
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,598
If J sereies phones, you would need to set up either an SBC or SIP remote worker functionality.
If 96xx sets, you can use VPN for them...

SBC is the safest way, but there is a cost.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,301
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,301
Again, site to site VPN so that each site is a separate subnet, the phones are now routable without going through the open Internet. No SBC, no remote worker, no extra licensing.

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
The problem with setting up the VPN is their computer guy is pissed that they did not chose the phone system that he was hawking, so I'm not looking for a lot of help with modifying his network.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Most Recent 5 Post
24 VS 23 Gauge
by teldata1 - 04/09/21 10:28 AM
Bell System Central Office Rotation
by dexman - 04/09/21 01:30 AM
DSX 40 built in auto attendant
by dougster - 04/07/21 03:16 PM
SVMI-2 AND SVMI-2E
by dougster - 04/06/21 11:16 PM
Using and Servicing an SX-200 MX in 2021
by Societus - 04/02/21 11:18 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums93
Topics94,340
Posts639,394
Members49,444
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
ATITerry, culthero, Scott Weber, witscc
Newest Members
Generoso, Flashy65, dv8inpp, Daniel Trentham, Societus
49,443 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 57
Ruben 17
jsaad 7
MJonas 7
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
25 members (nortelvoip, Mercenary Roadie, pvj, BobRobert, sundance, Yoda, justbill, mcemike, dukane123, Curlycord, dv8inpp, hitechcomm, mbhydro, Ruben, gelehu, Tip&Ring, hbiss, nonameyet, Jonce, Touch Tone Tommy, dexman, RATHER BE FISHING, jeffmoss26, Professor Shadow, ECI Tech), 163 guests, and 32 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners