EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Global Test Supply
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
eCommerce website for sale!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#638887 11/11/20 08:59 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
I have a new installation that will require 10 remote users,5 at 2 different locations. Is there a limit to how many remote users you can have?

Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,617
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,617
For free, you can have 4 on each IP500. Past that, you can license the users with power user, which includes remote worker.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,304
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,304
Or set up site to site VPNs, the 2 sites will have different subnets from each other and from the main site, the phones will connect without any special licensing

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Is that over and above the seat license? How hard is setting up a VPN between sites?

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Oh, I forgot there is only one control unit, the phones there will be digital.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,141
Likes: 2
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,141
Likes: 2
I think remote users need IP phones

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Yes the 10 remote users will have ip phones, but there will be no control unit at those 2 locations

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,617
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,617
If J sereies phones, you would need to set up either an SBC or SIP remote worker functionality.
If 96xx sets, you can use VPN for them...

SBC is the safest way, but there is a cost.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,304
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,304
Again, site to site VPN so that each site is a separate subnet, the phones are now routable without going through the open Internet. No SBC, no remote worker, no extra licensing.

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
The problem with setting up the VPN is their computer guy is pissed that they did not chose the phone system that he was hawking, so I'm not looking for a lot of help with modifying his network.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,295
Posts634,139
Members49,497
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Gary Golding, Kenny D. Cutler, Mike Porterfield
Newest Members
NZAndy101, spunkysam, tn00247167, Dave McCann, Mitel Hotel
49,496 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 9
Toner 6
jsaad 3
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
14 members (metelcom, Skunky, spunkysam, Mercenary Roadie, ffej010, Yoda, newtecky, RATHER BE FISHING, Keyset6, Coral Tech, BobRobert, hitechcomm, Temperor, Silversam), 362 guests, and 40 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud