Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#639754 01/29/21 05:36 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,219
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,219
here in the 909 area code in california we got an area code overlay. now we must dial area code to call next door. one of my customers forwards their calls at night. they have frontier. ever sense the change they cant do the forwarding. code is **1 but after the second * recording comes on telling them they must dial 909 first. they dont know who they get the forwarding service from but think it is from frontier. when they called frontier they seem to be clueless about it. can anyone tell me if **1 and **2 sound like frontier codes to forward and unforward calls. i think the more common code is *72. is there a way to find out who they get the forwarding service from. thanks. dave

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,312
Likes: 7
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,312
Likes: 7
I think **1 is a speed dial code that contains *72 plus number that was stored without the 909 area code. *72 has been the code for call forwarding as long as I can remember. I know that our speed dial codes are 2# through 9# here, regardless of the service provider, but those can vary with providers. As Frontier customers, they were previously GTE in your area, leading me to believe that the serving CO switch could be an EAX or ASU. I wonder if there is any documentation for codes in those switches available?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,219
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,219
interesting. i can have them approach frontier from that angle and possibly get a handle on it.

Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 816
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 816
Seems like someone hasn't fully updated the switch translations now that 10 digit dialing is required. Should be simple enough for them to replicate and find the issue. Finding the correct person/department to communicate this with at Frontier, that is a different story.

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,219
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,219
i am sharing the information with them and asking them to try a couple things like doing a *72 forward and if that works maybe they can find a new tel co speedial to use or maybe the system speedial. and if that doesnt work it that dreaded call to the tel co.

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 673
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 673
I know this is a few months old. did it ever get resolved?


Moderated by  dexman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,514
Posts635,324
Members49,566
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
Edward Clark, HarryITELECO, Dumbassbass, Wayne Ward, Telekomms Inc.
49,565 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 11
dexman 7
getcit 4
Who's Online Now
2 members (Curlycord, justbill), 30 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5