Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#640260 03/09/21 09:31 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 379
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 379
I have an IPOFFICE 500.

The story goes.... they had sustained a power outage a few weeks ago. They called because their PRI was not working. I deflected them back to AT&T to test before I dispatched out. Since they didn't call back, I called them 3 hrs later and it was up so I let it go.
The office which is all digital sets did not notice anything else was wrong. Yesterday they had some wiring work to do and that's when I discovered that ALL analog ports (about 80) had no dial tone. I saw 1 module had a red light and another was dark. The other 6 modules were green and the ports had battery but no dial tone. Swapping the power supply from the RED module to the DARK one gave it lights but would only continue to flash red and made no difference so I put them back.

I reset the power to all modules then reloaded the configuration file. The original green lighted modules came back to life and were now working fine.

I have a couple unused 30 port analog modules within the system (These modules are not the ones with removable cards.) that are configured, HAVE dial tone and working but with no stations physically attached.

My question is:

Can I simply remove module #8 and put it where #4 is now without any changes other than moving the expansion cable on the main and the station .cables?

They have 264 ports available but only about 90 active stations with no place to expand the business to. Yeah AT&T saw them coming. $$$$$$... at least I have spare parts.

Thank you for your insight.

Last edited by Not_sirius; 03/09/21 09:55 PM.
Advertising Sponsor
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,301
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,301
Check the configuration, and see what the system is expecting to have on each expansion port. Remember in Manager, the control unit is Device 1, the 4 slots on the control unit are device 2, 3, 4, and 5, and expansion port 1 is device 6, and so on.

If Expansion port 4 (device 9 in Manager) is the same module as expansion port 8 (device 13 in Manager), yes you can just move the blue cable connecting the expansion module to the control unit. You will have to blank out the extension numbers on ID 801 through 815 (or 830) and recreate them on 401 through 416 (or 430)

If the type of module is different, be sure you have an offline configuration just in case. I would suggest deleting the extensions on expansion 4 (ID 401 through 416 or 430), NOT THE USERS associated with those extension ports), delete Expansion Module 4 under Control Unit (Dev No 9), physically disconnect the expansion cable from Expansion port 8, and do an immediate reboot when you send the configuration back. After the control unit comes back up, power off, connect the expansion module to expansion port 4 and power back up. You can delete extension IDs 801 through 816 (or 830) and put them back on 401 through 416 (or 430)

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 379
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 379
Hi Tommy,

Fortunately the modules are indeed the same.

So I need to remove the numbers assigned to #8 first then swap the modules.

After I put it back into the place of #4 and use its network cable to the control unit I will need to re-create the extensions that were there before

Correct?

From this can I assume this means the station software resides on the individual modules and not the control unit?

Thanks for your help again.

Ralph

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,301
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,301
It's all held in the 500 control unit.

If it currently thinks that there are extension IDs 401~430, those extensions will still be there after you do the swap. There may or may not be Users associated with those extension numbers.

To keep the config clean, I would note down the extension numbers on ID 801~830, go through the steps to get expansion 8 out of the "Control Unit > Device 13" part of the configuration.

Once you've got the module working out of Expansion port 4, just change the extension numbers associated with ID 401~430 to those that you had on 801~830

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 379
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 379
Thanks.

I will be going back in a day or 2. I was fortunate that due to the season none of these extensions were critical..... SO FAR

I'll look to see about getting unit #8 out of the control unit after.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Most Recent 5 Post
CIX40 A3 AC power supply
by newtecky - 04/14/21 10:34 PM
samsung Officeserver 100
by bditech - 04/14/21 07:41 PM
FXS?
by Carl Navarro - 04/14/21 12:37 PM
off premise help
by dougster - 04/13/21 05:10 PM
Comdial DXP Call flows
by Rocket J Tech - 04/12/21 02:59 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums93
Topics94,346
Posts639,436
Members49,445
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Nevyn, Redryder2448
Newest Members
Rocket J Tech, Jonce, Generoso, Flashy65, dv8inpp
49,445 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 61
Ruben 14
jsaad 7
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
36 members (Mercenary Roadie, dougster, newtecky, dexman, Bushmills, RATHER BE FISHING, BobRobert, justbill, Curlycord, tgullett, mongo5150, Scotty Woods, pvj, nortelvoip, bditech, Carl Navarro, dans, bdunne, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, nfcphoneman, Ruben, Touch Tone Tommy, sketchypro, sundance, Yoda, JBean3329, Nate Ronning, Daniel, Professor Shadow, KRRath, gelehu, vicbob, Gary S., R4+Z, MooreTel, metelcom), 548 guests, and 90 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners