Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,060
Likes: 1
dexman Offline OP
Spam Hunter
*****
OP Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,060
Likes: 1
I've been corresponding with a poster over on the Verizon message boards. I've been providing info concerning FiOS telephone service. Not being able to ID the telephone system, I requested pictures.

The OP has a 1A2! shocked

https://forums.verizon.com/t5/home-phone/malfunctioning-pots/m-p/918197#M19877

I suggested that all of the telephone system hardware be put up for sale if Optimum provides new hardware (no FiOS in the area).


I Love FEATURE 00
Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 72
Likes: 3
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 72
Likes: 3
Nice!

Regarding Caller ID, one could probably wire a Caller ID display directly into the 1A2 phone set, e.g. wire to Line #1's T/R pair inside the 1A2 phone (1T/1R).

I believe the T/R pairs are "live" at all times in the 1A2 phone sets, so it can probably pick off the caller ID data from the line so it shows up at the phone set.

Doesn't look like they got a picture of the KSU, but this looks like it might be an intercom unit:
https://forums.verizon.com/t5/image...C904A6C/image-size/large?v=v2&px=999

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,312
Likes: 7
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,312
Likes: 7
While it's true that traditional 1A1/1A2 systems provided 'live' appearances of all lines at every set, there may be ways to streamline things. Do you think the original poster can give us some insight as to what they're doing and we might be able to help them get it done?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,627
Likes: 7
Admin
***
Offline
Admin
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,627
Likes: 7
Since the OP is going VoIP it's hard to fix what ain't broken smile

Looking around, I have just a boatload of solutions that would work, from the Panasonic KSU's to the Raspberry Pi that could serve 1-5 lines and you pick your phones.

Carl

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,060
Likes: 1
dexman Offline OP
Spam Hunter
*****
OP Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,060
Likes: 1
I'm hoping that the OP heeds my advice to put the equipment up for sale if the decision is made to undergo a forklift upgrade. Due to the scope of the site is not commercial telephone equipment centric, I'm leery about doing anything that would cause me to lose my Category Lead status. frown


I Love FEATURE 00
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,028
Likes: 2
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,028
Likes: 2
I had 1A2 at my house with Caller ID boxes. Admittedly they were only connected to the first line, but even so....

I also had FIOS and FIOS offers caller ID on the TV set. Just leave a TV on all the time if you need caller ID on more than one line wink

I did a quick look through the posts on the website. It appears that the OP doesn't have a clue about the system. How it operates, how to work on it, what it does....

My system at home ran for 40 years with very minimal maintenance. If he doesn't know how to work on it, he should walk away from it or change it out.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,627
Likes: 7
Admin
***
Offline
Admin
***
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,627
Likes: 7
I didn't start my business until 1981. By then, 1A2 was falling out of favor for those new-fangled electronic key systems(Tie, hack-spit, 612). I think my last 1A2 commercial was in a beer distributor and an office supply dealer around 1984. These were San/Bar and ITT boxes with Valcom intercoms. The beauty of the beer distributor is that they could open and close the warehouse doors from the 10 button set with indicator lights to see if the door was open. Couple of relays did the trick.

On the EKTS side, I picked some winners, Extrom, Tie,Atlas, then I started putting in Comdial and Vodavi and finally Panasonic. I swapped my TD-1232 for a TAW-848, the analog version of the TDA-50, that I still use today.

I still have some Valcom intercoms, a 10-button new in box ITT 2800 series phone, but I think all the KSU's (San/Bar) are long gone. I just didn't have enough room to move them twice.

Carl

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,060
Likes: 1
dexman Offline OP
Spam Hunter
*****
OP Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,060
Likes: 1
The OP hasn't responded to my last post. I have my doubts that anything else will come of the topic. Oh well,


I Love FEATURE 00

Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,521
Posts635,349
Members49,569
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
Bob Lafleur, Chez, Jodi Wurts, Miltonar
Newest Members
Implementing1A2, DLP, jaywin, dust0vich, Edward Clark
49,569 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 14
dexman 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 6 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5