Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#243871 05/28/10 03:14 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 193
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 193
One of my customers has an IPK II and they just switched to a cable modem for their trunk lines (3). They are having a problem with their customers and themselves calling into their ksu. They are fully automated and it only happens maybe 1 out of 5 calls. The cable co says it is not them, I have increased the gain in prg 81.10.03.

Any ideas?

Chris

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#243872 05/28/10 04:48 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,112
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,112
What is happening? Normally Comcast ALWAYS has call waiting on one line as the package goes.

#243873 05/28/10 05:29 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 193
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 193
Here in British Columbia, Canada businesses use Shaw cable if they would like their phones via cable.

Chris

#243874 05/28/10 11:09 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,112
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,112
SIP, regular POTS lines? What is happening?

#243875 05/28/10 11:14 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 193
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 193
Regular POTS lines, customers can reach someone 1 out of every 5 times on their cell phone.
I am assuming you can change a db prg for tx ?

Chris

#243876 06/01/10 06:49 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,624
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,624
What happens the other 4 times when they cannot reach someone? Is it only cell phones that are having issues?


"I'm the one that has to die when it's time for me to die, so let me live my life, the way I want to."
-- Jimi Hendrix

#243877 06/01/10 06:51 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 193
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 193
Yes it is only cell phones that are having the issue the other 4 times the call will go through. Land lines are fine.

Chris

#243878 06/01/10 08:02 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
This is going to be a LEC/cell company problem. Common around here. The cell companies don't seem to get the message as quickly, or at all, that the customer has changed LEC. Bet you'll find that the ones that do get through are all the same cell company, and the ones that don't are a different cell company.


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
#243879 06/08/10 07:10 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 193
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 193
thx.

Chris


Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,738
Posts636,407
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
aaronazatian, bg6214, Jigger, mkpgt, willtech
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 8
jsaad 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Toner), 33 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5