EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
vpnproxymaster
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Turn your commission checks on autopilot with 50% RECURRING COMMISSIONS!
Flexibits
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing with Getresponse
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing. [2]
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
tenex Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Hello all,

I've been going through a bit of an issue getting Verizon to clear noise on a POTS business line.

Ever since service was installed, there has been hum and crackling on the line. They traced it back to the plant, and going through all of the pairs to my terminal didn't correct the issue (our second business POTS line actually has zero noise). As a result, the initial technician identified the F1/F2 to the CO as the culprit.

Fast forward to a few days ago, and two techs came out. They said they 'rebuilt' the pair, and I noticed that noise seemed to be largely absent from the line for about 30 minutes after they left. Following that, the noise returned.

Today, there is zero dialtone on that line. Without dialtone, the hum and crackle is still present.

Is it too much to ask that Verizon deliver a clean POTS line? Does it seem unreasonable to request the line not have hum? The hum is almost indiscernable on their butt sets, but perfectly clear on regular telephone instrument (a whole assortment of WE500s, which don't exhibit the noise on any other line).

Don't get me started on their inability to bill correctly or provision features...

Would I have better luck going over to AT&T, which is a CLEC in my CO? I realize they would use the same cable... This is in southern Brooklyn, N.Y.

Thank you!

728x90 Phone.com
728x90 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 143
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 143
Brooklyn is notorious for bad copper, most notably bad block. I've both lived (Marine Park and Bensonhurst) and worked (43rd & 3rd, special services garage) in Brooklyn and know it as the back of my hand.

Whoever you go with, you'll be sitting on the same sorry excuse for copper. And if you go with a CLEC, good luck when the cable fails - because the CLEC lines are the last ones that get fixed. I'm speaking from experience here.

Given the shape of the plant, all you can do is:

a) Complain until they decide to finally fix it...and I mean complain *every day* until it gets to be a "chronic" that a second or third level manager will notice and possibly have splicers come out and get it right.

b) Get a PRI - at least these get fixed the same day.

c) Go with a cable company

Good luck.


"...Time moves slowly and it goes so fast..."

(Sandy Denny)
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
tenex Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Thanks for your reply.

Bensonhurst is right on the money. I'm just a couple of blocks from the CO.

What do you mean by 'block'?

I wonder why this area is so notorious...

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 143
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 143
Block as in F2 - you'll even see F3 in some areas but not where you are.

Are you coming out of 71st or 77th st - not that it makes a difference - both of these COs are actually very good, it's the outside plant that is shot.

The area (the entire borough, actually) is notorious because Verizon is not putting any money into plant maintenence, expecting that everyone will eventually switch to FiOS...in my opinion, that is.

Good luck.


"...Time moves slowly and it goes so fast..."

(Sandy Denny)
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
tenex Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Coming out of 71st -- I'm pretty sure my F2(?)ends at 20th Ave and hits the 'underground' (F1?) to the CO.

The tech was able to find a good, clean pair for my second line from the cross box to my location, but that first line is a real problem child... tried a whole slew of pairs from the cross to the building.

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 143
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 143
The next time they come out, have them fail ( proper term is "put in a one pair DC") the block if that's where the issue is.

I'm so happy I don't work in Brooklyn anymore... call

Good luck. You'll need it.


"...Time moves slowly and it goes so fast..."

(Sandy Denny)
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
tenex Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Do you mind explaining briefly what the DC is? Just a curious mind here and I love traditional telephony.

Sorry for all of the questions. Most of my experience has been with BellSouth, which retained a much more Bell System approach to service. I loved all the fresh cable on the poles, and ne'er an outage do I recall...

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 143
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 143
Well, basically, if I "run" the whole box (on a repair which would be the case applicable to your situation) and can't find a good pair - be it F1 or F2 - I'll make the call to cable maintenence and tell them that I need to DC a pair. They will take the info, and send a team out to clear *one* pair for the circuit in question (two pairs on a 4-wire circuits, obviously) putting the customer (you) back in service.

No clue on where the term came from, though.

Once again, good luck.


"...Time moves slowly and it goes so fast..."

(Sandy Denny)
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,713
Likes: 1
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,713
Likes: 1
Just guessing, but maybe from "Dead Count"... :shrug:


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
tenex Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Great info! They got the line back in service today, so they might've accidentally disconnected my pair over the week... Verizon tends to do that when rearranging services for other customers (in my experience). It's interesting that I was able to continue hearing the hum and crackle without the dialtone, as though there was still battery present.

I still have the hum and the crackle (actually, the crackling is more disturbing than the hum). But I'll take the steps to get it squared away. If nothing else, I'm making a lot of friends who are completely unappreciated by their employer, even though they've maintained a system that's saved countless lives and kept folks connected that otherwise couldn't.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  dexman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,431
Posts639,815
Members49,470
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Extreme, medhat eme, Telephonyman, TonyW
Newest Members
BezLovesITAD, AndreLS, JimLafleur, EssKayKay, xmestedex
49,470 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 12
hbiss 4
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
17 members (KRRath, RATHER BE FISHING, justbill, gelehu, Yoda, JBean3329, dexman, metelcom, Curlycord, BobRobert, Skunky, NateBates, EV607797, nortelvoip, Mercenary Roadie, Daniel, jeffmoss26), 209 guests, and 90 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud