Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 275
Likes: 1
Ted Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 275
Likes: 1
I know with the STS we could delete various prompts that annoyed the customer but I can't find anywhere to do that on the Summit. My prompt to delete comes on after user greeting. It says something like ( after recording you may hang up or press the star key for more options). Anyone have any ideas?
tk

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Which prompts in particular?


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 275
Likes: 1
Ted Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 275
Likes: 1
Hi Derrick, as much as I can figure out, the Summit documentation doesn't provide the prompt number like the STS. As I mentioned in my post the prompt in question is the prompt just after the user greeting and seems to be part of the beep prompt. I asked tech support and they said it wasn't possible. But I'm pretty sure there is a back door somewhere. They just don't want folks like me messing up the voice mail. It's a new customer and she hates the prompt.

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
I don't remember there being a back door for the Summit, other than the flush box messages option, which I used once and caused myself a bunch of trouble, it erased all active prompts and messages. I don't have the latest version of the OWA software to check on this for you, but if tech support advises against it, I would take that advice.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,351
Likes: 12
I seem to recall that this function was only available with a serial connection to the KSU at 38,400 baud. Derrick, you likely know the customer!


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 649
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 649
Likes: 1
I am pretty sure that you would simply record a second of silence over the prompt. For example,the same way you would record the day prompt "001", you would have to record over the system prompt which I don't remember what # it was. It was something in the 200's. If I find it, I will post it.


"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 275
Likes: 1
Ted Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 275
Likes: 1
Hi adteldon, I wish I could do that. The vs5000 Summit that I'm working on only has 202 system greetings to choose from,. When I dial 203, I just get a busy.For whatever reason I have two customer that are picky about this prompt. It really is the same prompt that Verizon has on all it cell phone voice mails. but whatever, I would like to get rid of it.

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 649
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 649
Likes: 1
Hey Ted,
I am sorry but my memory fails me as far as which greeting it is. I was originally thinking it was in the 200's, but I have been known to be wrong. It could be similar to the old vodavi greetings like 096 or 106, or... I put in a ticket with Vertical to get the answers because I need to know as well. I will post them here once they respond. I wouldn't go around recording over anything until you know for sure though. It could cause major issues.


"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 275
Likes: 1
Ted Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 275
Likes: 1
Been there. Done that. I'll wait.

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 649
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 649
Likes: 1
Ted, I will send you a PM with the fix as I don't think it should be made available to the general public.


"I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken"

Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,824
Posts636,752
Members49,644
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Chad Hoffman, frankhines, jnawrocki
Newest Members
PhoneGuy827, julesm, Helen.D, AlAl, mike hurford
49,643 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 11
pvj 11
Toner 7
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 129 guests, and 25 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5