Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11
mhunter Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11
I have an AC 3.0 system in my house with six euro6 phones, and one euro 18D phone. It's worked fine since I got it about 2 years ago or so. This morning I walked into my office and the 18D is dead, no lights, no display, and when I pick up the receiver I hear nothing. The 18D is of course plugged into ext 10.
If I plug the 18D into another port it is still dead. If I plug any other phone into ext 10 they work just fine. Even my old MLS-12D which is kind of flaky and yellowed works.

I took it apart and there are no obvious components that are bad. Any debugging clues here? There are two bridge rectifiers inside, and both are producing a DC output.

Any help is appreciated before I plunk down some more cash to replace it... :-(

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
Pretty simple. I would think you need a new phone.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11
mhunter Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 11
Yeah, that's what i figured... The bridge rectifier on the w/b pairs is outputting around 42 VDC, the bridge on the other pairs is only outputting 8 VDC. When I unsolder the output terminals, it goes back to 42 something VDC. So something on the set is pulling it down.

Love the Avaya quality.. :-(

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
If you got your ACS R.3 a couple of years ago then you either bought it used or someone lied to you about how old it really is.
So that Euro 18-D could be 8 to 10 years old with who knows what kind of treatment before you got it.


Avaya SMB Authorized Business Partner. ACIS/APSS
ESI Certified Reseller/Installer
www.regal-comm.com
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
Love the Avaya quality..

You bought it used and you are complaining about quality. Not only don't you know how old it is or where its been, it owes you nothing as far as I can see. This time buy a NEW phone.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,949
Amen brother Hal..........Amen!


Avaya SMB Authorized Business Partner. ACIS/APSS
ESI Certified Reseller/Installer
www.regal-comm.com
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 515
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 515
You may be able to gather a hint as to it's manufacture date by looking at, and posting all the numbers on the "ORIGINAL" sticker, if it has one.

But I am in agreement with all others, buy another one.

There are very few things you can fix by taking it apart.

Mostly, you will find that you have more parts left over than when you started.

In fact, I have found that after I take enough of these apart, I tend to have enough parts left over to make a whole new set.


RULE NUMBER 2, "THINKIN' WON'T GET IT, YOU GOTTA KNOW!" RULE NUMBER 3, if you need TIER-3 SUPPORT on a LEGEND or MAGIX, go to http://home.comcast.net/~merlinman -
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Quote
Originally posted by mhunter:
This morning I walked into my office and the 18D is dead, no lights, no display, and when I pick up the receiver I hear nothing. The 18D is of course plugged into ext 10.
If I plug the 18D into another port it is still dead. If I plug any other phone into ext 10 they work just fine. Even my old MLS-12D which is kind of flaky and yellowed works.
You *are* testing the 18D with a known good line cord, right? I see more more bad line cords causing "dead" phones than bad phones.

-Ilena

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
Good point there Ilena and welcome to the board!

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
yea , sometimes it easy to overlook the basics


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,416
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Charles Duffy, Station Specialties
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 41 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5